I am downloading a PDF file and want to type directly in the file, save it and print it. How do I do this?
PDF Files
Re: PDF Files
Well that's the problem with PDF's, they are designed to prevent what you are trying to do..... usually. This isnt always true but you'll need to finish downloading the file to tell if you can modify, save, then print it. If the file's author set the permissions to allow you to modify, save, print its a simple matter of just opening the file, typing in your text, up top Save As, then print that bad boy.
Alas without a link/file I cant tell ya what restrictions the author placed on it. All I can say is try it [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
-Reby
and if all else fails do like we do at work with some of the forms when we are in a hurry
use a clear mailing label 5667 (i think) type onto that and then stick it pan the form and then get a clean copy from the copier
mi nuh have time fi a fiddle wid PDF [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
however this might not be an option if you are trying to fill out something "online"
and if you have to send it back to a client just scan and convert the clean copy back to PDF (you do have PDF writer right) and email back to client
You need Adobe Acrobat (not Acrobat Reader) to convert your MS Word, Excel, etc docs into the PDF format. Don't bother think of using the Text tool in Acrobat as it is a long tedious and worthless effort that does not offer any special formatting and will only drive you up the wall. Been there done that....
Adobe's website offer a free service where you can send your document (MS Word, etc) to them via an upload link; they create the PDF format and email it to you. You can sign up and use the service to create up to 5 Adobe PDF files for free.
You can download free versions of Adobe Acrobat from the net (so I have been told [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/desdentado.gif[/img]) which will have within it Adobe Distiller. This is the part of the Acrobat program that allows you to generate your PDFs from files created from many other programs out there.
Very good info.
Thanks for all the input. I don't think the site allows read/write access. I need to check if I have adobe writer at work....dem buy every odda software, suh I am hoping.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
If your company doesnt and it is for your personal use, you may be able to have ur son purchase the student version of adobe-- same product less $$$If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Pepper, some PDF forms are online in two versions. 1) Print and Write in the info manually, 2) Actually Fill in the fields online or on your PC.
The other option is to scan in the PDF document then convert the file via OCR software (Omnipage...., etc), into word or Excel. Then you can fill in the fields you desire in those programs, or use Acrobat writer 7 or 8, to create a Fill-In-The-Blank PDF FORM from the converted OCR document.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Pepper as long as you have the read/write version you are able to use the text selection tool and type over. You won't be able to insert text however. </div></div>Adobe Acrobat is a suite of applications:<ul>[*]Acrobat Reader allows you to view PDF Files and is free of charge[*]Acrobat Distiller allows you to generate a PDF file from a text or image file and is available for purchase from Adobe[*]Acrobat Exchange allows some limited text and image editing of PDF files and is also available for purchase from Adobe[/list]If you don't wish to purchase Exchange, I suggest you Google for a free alternative.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">BTW, if the author 'protected' the document you won't be able to edit it even with Exchange. </div></div>
She can with the method I described above.