What's the difference between a thru-the-wall and slider/casement air conditioner. I have a window a/c but I moved. Turn the badboy on tonite and inside de case where the a/c is a get hot. Help a bredda out - mi kiaan deal wid de heat
A/C question
Re: A/C question
Through the wall is more or less a permanent installation through a big square hole in the wall, made especially for the front of the A/C to come through.
The Slider/Casement has to do with your window type. It depends on if you have sliding windows (horizontal or vertical) or casement type (basically other kind that does NOT slide). These A/C's are made to temporarily or permanently go inside your window.
If as you implied, you are feeling some of the heat coming from the case, then you installation is improper.
Do you feel the A/C unit cooling down at all, or just hot air blowing? Yuh details are too sketchy.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Through the wall is more or less a permanent installation through a big square hole in the wall, made especially for the front of the A/C to come through.
The Slider/Casement has to do with your window type. It depends on if you have sliding windows (horizontal or vertical) or casement type (basically other kind that does NOT slide). These A/C's are made to temporarily or permanently go inside your window.
If as you implied, you are feeling some of the heat coming from the case, then you installation is improper.
Do you feel the A/C unit cooling down at all, or just hot air blowing? Yuh details are too sketchy.
Aright hear wah happen. There is a slot inside the wall - kinda like a cave (cut out). The A/C is supposed to be then placed within the slot.
So mi concluding dat a window a/c functions differently from a hole-in-de-wall one.
PDB, di picture kina small soh mi caa si it good.
From whe mi can mek out, yuh should be able fi slide an appropriately sized unit inside di same empty spot, after yuh un-block di opening to the outside and properly seal around di unit.
By di way yuh still no answa mi odda question bout di hot air.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_4Muna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
That's what it looks like pan de outside. what u see is not really the a/c but the 'holder' or casing. </div></div>
Wheh yu liv Motel S*X?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: PDB_4Muna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
That's what it looks like pan de outside. what u see is not really the a/c but the 'holder' or casing. </div></div>
Wheh yu liv Motel S*X? </div></div>
[img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] Dis bredda....lol
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">PDB, di picture kina small soh mi caa si it good.
From whe mi can mek out, yuh should be able fi slide an appropriately sized unit inside di same empty spot, after yuh un-block di opening to the outside and properly seal around di unit.
By di way yuh still no answa mi odda question bout di hot air.
That's not my actual window. I googled that pic. I just took some pics of it so mi a guh upload it in a minute.
The hot air was coming from the top and back of the unit. Cool air was coming thru but the hot air cancelled it out.
If yuh can't si daylight through di hole inna di wall, den yuh need fi tek out whatever dem ah use fi block di winter air and little creatures from coming into di apartment. Does yuh A/c unit fill up di hole from top to bottom, and side to side?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If yuh can't si daylight through di hole inna di wall, den yuh need fi tek out whatever dem ah use fi block di winter air and little creatures from coming into di apartment. Does yuh A/c unit fill up di hole from top to bottom, and sise to side? </div></div>
Nat even close breddren. Not even close....the windows at the old apt were very small :-(