The player is so integrated in the OS, is there any way to repair it without having to reinstall Vista?
Windows Media Player & Vista...
Re: Windows Media Player & Vista...
I did, BUT when I try the version on the M$ website (v. 11 supposedly for XP & repairing Vista's MP), the install fails because the version integrated in Vista is newer! There is no option to uninstall the player in Vista! <grrrr...>. I also checked a couple of bulletin boards and the general feeling is that it cannot be repaired without reinstalling the OS \o/aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CEW</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I also checked a couple of bulletin boards and the general feeling is that it cannot be repaired without reinstalling the OS \o/ </div></div>
The whole OS?
You can't choose install and when it come up seh just WMPlaya?
Don't know nothing bout Vista....nat touching it wid a lang stick unless mi get paid fi do it!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CEW</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I did, BUT when I try the version on the M$ website (v. 11 supposedly for XP & repairing Vista's MP), the install fails because the version integrated in Vista is newer! There is no option to uninstall the player in Vista! <grrrr...>. I also checked a couple of bulletin boards and the general feeling is that it cannot be repaired without reinstalling the OS \o/ </div></div>
Just go back to MS page and put the player version in their search box, then manually reload the version you have,on your puter. I use to do that with corrupt files in XP. I am sure it will work in vista too.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">M$ strikes again! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </div></div>
HaHa!
They'll have to pry my Windows ME from my cold dead hands. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
WinME? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img]
that has to be the worst upgrade edition ever created. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img]
Now I am apprehensive when it comes on to newer upgrades because of glitches like these. Thanks for letting us know CEW. I'll be waiting at least 2 years before I jump on Vista.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CEW</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I did, BUT when I try the version on the M$ website (v. 11 supposedly for XP & repairing Vista's MP), the install fails because the version integrated in Vista is newer! There is no option to uninstall the player in Vista! <grrrr...>. I also checked a couple of bulletin boards and the general feeling is that it cannot be repaired without reinstalling the OS \o/ </div></div>
Just go back to MS page and put the player version in their search box, then manually reload the version you have,on your puter. I use to do that with corrupt files in XP. I am sure it will work in vista too. </div></div>
Thanks for the suggestion. I did try that as well but it seems there is only one version available for download that would supposedly repair Vista's media player, and of course, the install failed. In XP, it could be uninstalled as it was a stand-alone app, but in Vista it is very integrated as a part of the OS.
I figured I have already spent enough time looking for a solution, so last night I bit the bullet and reinstalled Vista. Now I'm back to listening to some of "fave" online stations [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70409-waytogo.gif[/img]aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body">HaHa!
They'll have to pry my Windows ME from my cold dead hands. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </div></div>
Milo, Milo, Milo... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70388-shameonyou.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/grin.gif[/img]
Skells: No problem at all. I like new technology, so even though I know better and XP was working like a charm, I still upgraded to Vista. But for the fact that a number of my current applications are not compatible, it's not a bad OS.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CEW</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I also checked a couple of bulletin boards and the general feeling is that it cannot be repaired without reinstalling the OS \o/ </div></div>
The whole OS?
You can't choose install and when it come up seh just WMPlaya?</div></div>
Nope, and it cannot be uninstalled either unless one is prepared to edit the registry and remove all traces of it and even then, based on what I've read on some tech boards, that isn't a sure thing either.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">M$ strikes again! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </div></div>
HaHa!
They'll have to pry my Windows ME from my cold dead hands. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img] </div></div>
Milo it safe fi go to Win-XP, mi tink yuh caa leggo Win-ME now! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">CEW, just for reference, did you try going back to a restore-point before the problem started to occur? </div></div>
Yes, but the earliest restore point available didn't resolve the problem.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....