Is it possible for two different computers to hook up to the same printer (and have it work) [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smirk.gif[/img] one having XP and the other having Vista???
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Is it possible for two different computers to hook up to the same printer (and have it work) [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smirk.gif[/img] one having XP and the other having Vista???
Ehternet, will that work (networkable)?? </div></div> It work jus as well as one Os. The different OS has nothing to do with the printer. As long as the machine can recognize the printer,and that only need the driver for that OS,because is really the driver that do that and as long as each OS recognize the printer and the computers on the network recognize it,it will work.
Yes, multiple ways of doing what you want. If you have a network, you can connect the printer and share it out for the other machine to use. If you hook up the printer to the Vista machine, you don't always need the driver on the Xp machine. (sometimes you do, and it depends on the printer. Occasionally you also have to deal with user permissions for access to the shared printer) You can also use an a/b switch box, but normally both machines have to have the same type of connection to the printer. In that case, you will need the driver for each operating system. As asked, need to know how you plan on hooking up the printer. (USB, Serial, Network, Parallel, No clue. (joke) [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crazy.gif[/img] )
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">connected wirelessly, and i don't believe (the last time I looked anyhow) that there is a vista update for this printer, but mi shouldan look again. </div></div>
Step one is to share out the printer.
If the printer hooked up to the xp machine and works, go Start->Settings->Printers and Faxes->(right click on the printer you want to share)->Sharing...->Share this printer (can leave the default name)->Ok.
This will setup the printer so that the other machine can connect to it via the wireless network.
Step two is to connect from the Vista machine. I don't have a Vista machine with me right now, so if anybody want to help with this part. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img] Otherwise, I'll add the steps tommorrow.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">back to step one cah there is no machine hooked up to it.
Different laptops and it hook up to the router via a printer server. </div></div>
If the printer is on a server,all you seem to need to do is to put the machine on the LAN and then once you can see the server,you should be able to select the printer you wnt to use.
Why don't you try the thing and then ask if you have a problem?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Emperah_dahJah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">back to step one cah there is no machine hooked up to it.
Different laptops and it hook up to the router via a printer server. </div></div>
Ok, good. Me nuh have to go in the lab cuz' and get the Vista steps cuz' it busy today. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
Please describe the printer server. Is it a little box or an actual pc or a network capable printer? If it is a box, please tell me the manufacturer and model number and any version number listed. You confusing me because you seh the laptop connected to the router via wireless. Ok. understand that, but then how the printer connected to everything else? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] It's either going to be one of the three possibilities above.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.