If you download music from Kazza or another of the music file sharing sites you will want to check out my thread in the music section! The first actual case is under way and should be decided shortly!
Well for the time being anyway, Canadian courts have decided the act of downloading music for personal use is not against the law so until I hear otherwise I will continue. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/laugh.gif[/img]
Milo, yuh kno sey over di years di U.S.A. have been trying fi apply pressure pan Canada fi follow dem lead. Ah wanda if unnu ah goh eventually follow unnu kissing-cousin an eventually fall in line?
******Snip*****"Duluth, Minnesota — During the second morning of the Capitol v. Thomas trial, a clearer view of the two sides' legal strategy emerged. The RIAA, led by their counsel Richard Gabriel, is attempting to craft a carefully-constructed picture of the defendant as a KaZaA user whose "copying and distributing" music over the P2P network has harmed the record industry. The RIAA's counsel also hopes to paint a picture of the defendant as a habitual music thief who not only shares music, but also steals plenty of it herself. To that end, the RIAA is arguing that the music found on her computer during a forensic inspection was obtained illegally, by copying the music directly from another hard drive. In other words, she's guilty coming and going........"**********Snip**********
Cross posting this between here and music section cause look what happened...
DULUTH, Minnesota -- Jammie Thomas, a single mother of two, was found liable Thursday for copyright infringement in the nation's first file-sharing case to go before a jury.
Twelve jurors here said the Minnesota woman must pay $9,250 for each of 24 shared songs that were the subject of the lawsuit, amounting to $222,000 in penalties.
Not from what I have read so far Nylah. She is a single mother with 2 children to support and now this. What I don't understand because of my limited use of kazza is that you do not even have to share the file with anyone else, you can get this trouble from just downloading and copying? I am so not a geek so maybe JKid can answer.
The news will be on shortly and I will post if I hear anything new but lots of news peeps from all over are scooping the story.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">you can get this trouble from just downloading and copying </div></div>
I think this is where it becomes stealing and copyright infringment becuase the act of allowing someone to download from your computer is illegal distibution.
Well, in basic terms, with the help of K@zza they simply monitor user name and I/P addresses that are downloading via the P2P method. They join the network and target someone K@zza group user name. They then get a court order demanding the records for that user, based on IP tracking info, from your ISP. That is how they find you.
Wrong or right, their position is that they own the rights to the music forever, even though you may have paid for the CD/music, and you don't have the right to give the music to anyone else. They are implying that you basically leased the CD (you don't own it in the true sense of the word), and as such, you don't have the right to sell or give copies of the songs away, however, you can sell the entire original physical CD, or give it away free to someone else (which in itself is giving a copy, since you also made a copy of it on your hard drive or MP3 player. Go figure). They basically want everyone to buy a fresh copy if you desire the music, and not trade them. Did I confuse you enough? [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/desdentado.gif[/img]
Yes, they hold you liable if you are the uploader or the downloader it does not matter.
I guess I will be staying away from kazza! I downloaded lots of tunes from there years ago & it ain't worth it. There are 26,000 other cases at the moment, this one was the first. Now I bet the people in the other cases will be clamoring to settle! What a thing to be made an example of.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Empress_Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">you can get this trouble from just downloading and copying </div></div>
I think this is where it becomes stealing and copyright infringment becuase the act of allowing someone to download from your computer is illegal distibution.
That's my educated guess. </div></div>
You're correct.
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
Because right now dem using K@zza as a test case, and to hav downoaders shaking in dem boots. They may eventually go after some of the others, but right now K@zza cases keep dem very busy. It was the big dog out there after, Napster also lost their court case. Basicaly, they seem to be picking them off one at a time (starting with the big guys first).
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.