dema kill mi. What' the best software to avoid these and potential virus
pop ups
Re: pop ups
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs. MarieK</div><div class="ubbcode-body">dema kill mi. What' the best software to avoid these and potential virus </div></div>
Your best defense is knowledge of how dem work. I don't use any pop blocker. I also google anything before I type in the name of the website. One mispelled URL can screw up the pc (BTDT.) Any pop ups are from adware that got installed on the pc. They get there either from a URL or from some program that was installed on the pc. Learn to use the custom install function of any program that you install instead of the default options. You will find that most programs now want to install toolbars and a whole bunch of other stuff that you really don't need. All of the free music and Instant messenger programs install some sort of stupid toolbar and/or ADware. You don't need it. Uncheck it when you go to custom install.
Now that me seh all ah dat, here a two online links that you can use. Depending on what you have, de site might not even help you. Some of the stuff out there, reinstall themself and you need some more knowledge of how to uninstall them. Some of dem are just a RPITA to remove. Both of the sites have a <u>free</u> <u>online</u> scan buried somewhere on the page. Try the online scan first and see what it find, then try to remove it. If you have difficulty removing, post back the name and I will try to help.
Enterprise AI cybersecurity platform with layered protection, cyber risk exposure management and SecOps—62 global offices, the United States HQ office is in Texas.
Download free antivirus and malware protection. Tune up your PC, Mac, & Android. Encrypt your connection and browse anonymously with a VPN.
Adaware is also good. You can get the latest version from http://www.download.com (Search on 'adaware')
Spybot (available same place above) is also good, but it has resident shields that can cause some difficulty for some users.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MrsOchigal</div><div class="ubbcode-body">webroot spysweeper is also good. Its not free however but it updates often and looks for new spyware daily. </div></div>
Forgot about that one, and also Microsoft Defender available on their website.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs. MarieK</div><div class="ubbcode-body">IE </div></div>
If you download Firefox from the link Xavier put on this page you can kiss most of those pesky pop ups goodbye. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70373-kiss.gif[/img]