I am looking for a recommendation on a hand held device that I can upload word documents to and read from when doing a presentation. I don't need anything fancy. I won't be connecting it to a projector or anything like that. Just the ability to read and scroll through a word document. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img]
J Kid et al - help
Re: J Kid et al - help
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compray</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I am looking for a recommendation on a hand held device that I can upload word documents to and read from when doing a presentation. I don't need anything fancy. I won't be connecting it to a projector or anything like that. Just the ability to read and scroll through a word document. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/helpsmilie.gif[/img] </div></div>
Anything with Win Mobile 6 should be able to do it. I will see if I can get a screen shot later of a doc from the Tilt. It has Mobile Word built in.
This is in landscape mode. I'm able to either word wrap the text or scroll. The doc was first created on the pc, then saved to the Mobile phone folder. Once I connected the phone, it automatically copied it to the phone. All I had to do once it was on the phone was click on it and just like a pc, it automatically started word and displayed the doc.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Compray</div><div class="ubbcode-body">LinSkinny, explain please. Which device can I use? I was thinking that I need something similiar to a Palm Pilot but without the frills. Do they even make those anymore? </div></div>
Well, the Palms are still around, but the market is shifting towards Mobile phones/PDA's. The blackberries have a pretty good market share right now because almost everybody I know in the business world has one. I'm not sure if you can run Word on a Palm and I'm too lazy to find out. Look at my thread with the link below. It's talking about the new phone I got. The type of phone/PDA depends on the cell carrier you have. I think the blackberry type devices can do word also, but again I'm too lazy to check out the work one I have. (It's bedtime. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-sleeping.gif[/img])
It is running a version of Windows Mobile and it has Word Mobile built in. The mobile versions of the software are similar but different from the desktop version, but as you can see from the screen capture, they are compatible. (and it would do what you requested.) I have not even mentioned the internet access yet. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img]
I went digging to look up the Palm and see if it would do word and such. It seems it will. Price about $100 for a Treo. Doesn't appear that they are using Windows Mobile on some of them, but others seem to be. I think if it were me, I'd spend a little extra to get Windows Mobile. Lots more possibilities with that software and IMO, less headaches transferring word stuff over.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: LinSkinny</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I went digging to look up the Palm and see if it would do word and such. It seems it will. Price about $100 for a Treo. Doesn't appear that they are using Windows Mobile on some of them, but others seem to be. I think if it were me, I'd spend a little extra to get Windows Mobile. Lots more possibilities with that software and IMO, less headaches transferring word stuff over. </div></div>
LinSkinny, I'm hesitant to spend the little extra on something that I'll use once or twice a month. Technically I could use my laptop but I do find that a bit tacky.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Ivoree</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Ahem...Comps..this has the office features on it and is amazing...I have an order in for another shipment of them to sell... [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/wink.gif[/img]
Buy one fi mi nuh. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70459-hugs.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">LinSkinny, I'm hesitant to spend the little extra on something that I'll use once or twice a month. Technically I could use my laptop but I do find that a bit tacky. </div></div>
Ah hear you. I was too, but di reason I went with one of the good phones is because I'm getting to hate lugging the laptop around. So far the phone does almost everything I need it to do. Think of it as a portable version of the laptop. (I don't even activate the phone part yet. Still personalizing the ting to me liking. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img] Another week and it activate.)
Any PDA should do, as long as you can make the fonts large enough to see at a distance, and it has auto-scrolling feature for the specific application. My personal preference would be any device wid a non-windows operating system, for rock solid operation. I don't want di stupid ting locking up inna di miggle ah mi speech.
Di question I have though is; What haappen if yuh drop it inna di miggle ah yuh speech, or di battery run out?
Das wan ting yuh caa beat wen it comes tuh ink and paper.