Does anyone have any first-hand knowledge of this place? I read some really bad reviews and lately the reviews are all positive. Just curious because I have friends that want to stay there and I don't know what to tell them.
Starfish Trelawny ?
Re: Starfish Trelawny ?
I live in Duncans Bay, about 6 mi. east of Starfish, which is maybe 3 mi. east of Falmouth, a fairly sizable & historic town. There are many attractions within a close range of Starfish like Rafting on the Martha Brae, Ottameni, Luminous Lagoon, Bracco riding stables and Green Grotto caves.
I've heard that there are many activities at the resort to entertain the guests and have met some of the entertainment staff....some really genuine people.
If you have other questions, please feel free to pm me.
I also used to live up in Duncans and Clarkstown near JaJewel... in my day it was the Trelawny Beach Resort, and they seemed to renovating it for years before turning it into the Starfish Trelawny. Last time on the north coast (I later moved down to treasre Beach), I went to Time 'N Place which is a cool place next door to Starfish, and then took a walk onto the compound of Starfish trelawny. It seemed like any other all inclusive resort, but of course this one is a lot quieter due to it's more rural location.
That being said, like JaJewel said, you are about an hour between Ocho Rios and all of the Dunns River Falls, Fern Gully Stuff, and Montego Bay is a 45 minute taxi ride away if you want some nightlife.
Honestly though, in this area, there are some pretty great spots to enjoy a drink and some food and conversation.
Also, the market in Falmouth and the town of Falmouth are great to explore around. Also venturing up into Cockpit country and seeing all of the cane fields, and lushness and fresh air are wonderful trips easy by taxi too!
I can say for sure, the water at Starfish would be great because I have swam up and down the coast there, and off the likkle beach next door. It is calm and pretty. Not much of a current or too wavy, and it is pretty shallow for quite a ways out.
Here's what Advisor says about Starfish Trelawny - it seems to get mid-ranged reviews, but really, in Jamaica, you get what you pay for, and it is certainly one of the lower cost A.I.'s
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserRevie...th_Jamaica.html
Hope this helps!!
My sister and I stayed at Starfish in 2006 and had a wonderful time there. We thought the room, the food and entertainment were wonderful! But then again, we are not hard to please and it was my sister's first time going all inclusive.
The staff were all very kind and went out of their way to please everyone.
We did not take any trips outside the hotel as we had done many of them before and were there for total relaxation.
The only minor complaint that we had was the music and announcing of events near the pool was way too loud, so we spent much of our time at the beach, where we should have been anyway!
The beach area is beautiful and sandy and the little Island was fun to sit on and read.
We did not visit the craft market next door and instead did our shopping when the vendors came to the hotel every night.
The hotel even let us stay a day longer than our original reservation as US Air was late and we missed our connection and had to spend a night in Philadelphia. US Air was kind enough to change our return also so that we did not miss out on a day in Jamaica and upgraded us to First Class.
We loved the theme nights at the buffet and we never found any fault with the food, always delicious, always a great variety. Casablanca dining was very nice and worth going there for a meal. We did not try any of the other ones, just ate at the buffet.
Almost booked a trip back this yr. but settled on Royal Decameron Monteogo Beach this time. Maybe next yr.