Hello everyone. Love this website! I've joined so that I can get some advice from the JA experts. I visited Jamaica (from the UK) about five years ago and had a great time. I'm visiting again this October and would welcome any advice on places to visit. I was mainly Kingston, Blue Mountains and North East Coast last time. This time me and a couple of mates want to see the West and the South. I'm not really into the big resort holidays - I'd rather be somewhere quiet and laid-back. In particular, I'd like to visit Accompong. Will probably have own trasnsport but could do with a guide / somewhere to stay for Accompong and would welcome any other suggestions and ideas.
Accompong, South Coast beaches & off-the-beaten-track
Re: Accompong, South Coast beaches & off-the-beaten-track
Hi MSG, welcome to Jamaicans.com....
You might be interested in Treasure Beach which is on the southwest coast...it's basically just a string of sleepy little fising villages....easily one of the laid backedest places I've ever been
You could also head inland a little and check out Mandeville...
Take a look at the Destination Guide for more detailed info....
Enjoy your visit!
Lots to do and see in the area. Accompong is really close to YS Falls, Bamboo Ave, and is quite near Treasure Beach. Other cool things on the south coast to research - Gut River, Alligator Pond (and a meal at little Ochi), Milk River Bath, Bluefields Beach....
Liz, you're giving me wanderlust! Nice list!!!
In Accompong, you coud stay at Tony's Baboo's Garden! I've heard the view is spectacular! I've seen photos of it, but they are on a dead computer. You can contact Tony:
Baboo's Garden
Thanks Dave, Nanook & Liz. Will definitely head to Treasure Beach - heard so much about it. Surprises me that it hasn't got too popular and over-developed by now - given all the praise it gets.
I will visit Mandeville and I'm also curious to visit Maypen (although I'm told there isn't much there).
I'll also check out the other suggestions in Liz's list.
Is little Ochi a place to visit (as in 'little Ochos Rios') or the name of a place to eat?
I will be in touch with Tony about Baboos Garden - looks good for a night or two.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MSG2U</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm also curious to visit Maypen (although I'm told there isn't much there).</div></div>
You were told correctly. Nothing of interest in May Pen. However, just a short drive south of there is Milk River Bath. Which is a famous mineral hot spring.
You can READ HERE a brief report from one of the Boardites who went there.
That's my report!I highly recommend a stay at least overnight! Overnight guests get unlimited soaking opportunities. The dinner alone is worth the modest price of the stay, just for the experience. It is a beautiful drive from Alligator Pond along the south coast road and that's where you'll find Gut river, but the road might be a little rough. it was smooth the last time i went along that way but it has been a few years and hurricane Ivan hot the area hard so you might want to ask before embarking.
I hear the old hotel is getting renovated. I hope they work to keep the ambiance of this centuries old building, as it is an experience in itself!
Also, near Alligator Pond is the Sea Riv hotel. I'm not sure of the contact information and as far as I know there is no website but it's a great place to hang out! I will try to find out information is you are interested.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MSG2U</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks Dave, Nanook & Liz. Will definitely head to Treasure Beach - heard so much about it. Surprises me that it hasn't got too popular and over-developed by now - given all the praise it gets.
I will visit Mandeville and I'm also curious to visit Maypen (although I'm told there isn't much there).
I'll also check out the other suggestions in Liz's list.
Is little Ochi a place to visit (as in 'little Ochos Rios') or the name of a place to eat?
North of Mandeville is Christiana. We spent a night there and then checked out Gourie Cave the next day. We wanted to hike down to Christiana Bottom (waterfall) but it was too muddy. Christiana is only about 10-15 mins north of Mandeville and the drive is beautiful.
Little Ochi has super-fresh fish that you choose in the cooler then select a style (escoveitch, curry, etc) and pay by the pound. Then you eat on tables set up in boats on stilts. The festival is yummy too,and the beach is pretty.
I aregg with the rest, nothing much to see in MayPen, and accomodations are pretty dear in price for what is actually there. One of my best breds lives there, and I visit every now and then, but really, other than a likkle pool hall by the old clocktower and market, not much a gwann in May Pen except the Milk River Bath which is a nice soak.
I am an ex-pat who spent most of 10 years on the North Coast in Duncans and Clarkstown (Trelawny), but then ended up making the move to the southwest and built a little house in Treasure Beach. It's a great, quiet area surrounded by neat little towns (like Black River and Santa Cruz). Nice, quiet beaches (although you need to be a competent swimmer to go into the sea there), good fishing, great snorkellin, good little cook shops, and an amazing sunset.
Enjoy wherever you end up, but don't invest too much time in the May Pen area - it's more of a stop through unless you are going to the Bath or Alligator Pond which again, has great food, but is more of a stop-over.