I wish to send a barrel of toys from england to jamaica.It is not as easy as it sounds and I am running out of time!Please guide me through the process,I cannot get any easy to understand information anywhere why is it so difficult?
Or am I just missing the simple way?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: tictoc</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I wish to send a barrel of toys from england to jamaica.It is not as easy as it sounds and I am running out of time!Please guide me through the process,I cannot get any easy to understand information anywhere why is it so difficult?
Or am I just missing the simple way? </div></div>
Just missing the 'simple' way From our homepages there are links to a variety of groups to contact for this type of donation, as well as a detailed info on getting duty free waivers to ship donations of items to a school or group in JA.
You will note that much of the info on this page is relative to US residents, however on the duty free waiver instructions, substitute contact names with those at Consulates or High Commissions in your own country of origin, and verify the name of the current Minister responsible in JA. (as this info was placed mid-2007)
You could also check with ((uswe)) whom recently went through this with shipping a donation of books.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: tictoc</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I wish to send a barrel of toys from england to jamaica.It is not as easy as it sounds and I am running out of time!Please guide me through the process,I cannot get any easy to understand information anywhere why is it so difficult?
Just missing the 'simple' way From our homepages there are links to a variety of groups to contact for this type of donation, as well as a detailed info on getting duty free waivers to ship donations of items to a school or group in JA.
You will note that much of the info on this page is relative to US residents, however on the duty free waiver instructions, substitute contact names with those at Consulates or High Commissions in your own country of origin, and verify the name of the current Minister responsible in JA. (as this info was placed mid-2007)
<span style="font-weight: bold">You could also check with ((uswe)) whom recently went through this with shipping a donation of books.</span>
If it was me you were refering to me SistahD? There must be a mistake..as I never recently shipped a donation of books..excellent advice nevertheless
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: tictoc</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I wish to send a barrel of toys from england to jamaica.It is not as easy as it sounds and I am running out of time!Please guide me through the process,I cannot get any easy to understand information anywhere why is it so difficult?
You could also check with ((uswe)) whom recently went through this with shipping a donation of books.
i dont mean to be difficult but wid all whe a ail yaad rite now, wich minista of govament u really expek fi interested in a single citizen shipping a barrel of toys to Ja....me keep reading all dis info bout wich an wich minista an wich office people fi contact wid dem spur of di moment need to ship a barrel r box of books r wateva giving mood tek dem on di mawning dem get up ....
so wat happen to looking in di yellow pages an sending it to a library r children's home
but wat up wid dis everlasting reference to ministries dung deh...r our govaments taken to be soo simple dat no ? is too simple r waste of time, to be referred to dem
btw mi no ha nutten gainst people as individuals giving tings to yaad but mi starting to ha dis problem wid people being given di idea dat govament an dem agencies and employees waiting fi every striking smaddy who feeling altruistic ,to tek up dem time answering bout wich barrel can go weh...
waste of govament resources not to mention wid so many jcans deh a england, ask one a dem an mi sure dem ha a church r project who wi tek dem
but dis referring to our govament as if we open fi every smaddy juss so is crazy
an frankly if people cannot afford to give to people far away, stawt at home....if u cannot afford di shipping to farrin, give to a local children's home
but if u intent on giving to a farrin country, is juss common sense fi identify who r wat u a sen it to, check di correct shipping an send it awf...if u cannot afford all dat, well gi dem di money u did use pon di toys
i am not against giving but if is not a ship load wid promise of more an is not rice, sugga r bread, why dis govament route help ting
no wonda people tek Ja govament fi joke...we ha some representatives a gi people di impression , u can juss walk een an tings criss fi u if u seh u a gi someting...poor Bruce...poor George...now him look like him open to some individual giving up yah in di US
feh
E..the best option would be to speak to the Jamaican High Commission..any waiver would probably depend on the quanity of goods being shipped. I'm sure certain organisations have waivers for certain goods..but the High Commission should be the first point of reference.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: uswe</div><div class="ubbcode-body">E..the best option would be to speak to the Jamaican High Commission..any waiver would probably depend on the quanity of goods being shipped. I'm sure certain organisations have waivers for certain goods..but the High Commission should be the first point of reference. </div></div>
wich is exakly my point..in the scheme of things, why should a one smaddy feel seh dem should ha access to the High Commission of a country, juss cause dem wan fi sen a barrel of toys...people please....we govament ha more pressing tings fi dem representatives do odda dan deal wid dat...foolishness dat...
mi sure seh is private sector alliance an hook up fi deal wid dat...i wish i am at my desk an smaddy cawl mi so tell mi seh dem know smaddy whe a try get een a barrel of toy an wat dem fi do...is di lass time dat smaddy get tru to my phone numba as a <span style="font-weight: bold">diplomat</span>....
an is not di insignificance of di cawl but the total irrelevance to my career as a high commission...charities deal wid charities....too much farrin currency a spen pon embassies fi people get di idea dat dem can cawl high commissioner dem fi find out wen is mango season
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: uswe</div><div class="ubbcode-body">E..the best option would be to speak to the Jamaican High Commission..any waiver would probably depend on the quanity of goods being shipped. I'm sure certain organisations have waivers for certain goods..but the High Commission should be the first point of reference. </div></div>
wich is exakly my point..in the scheme of things, why should a one smaddy feel seh dem should ha access to the High Commission of a country, juss cause dem wan fi sen a barrel of toys...people please....we govament ha more pressing tings fi dem representatives do odda dan deal wid dat...foolishness dat...
mi sure seh is private sector alliance an hook up fi deal wid dat...i wish i am at my desk an smaddy cawl mi so tell mi seh dem know smaddy whe a try get een a barrel of toy an wat dem fi do...is di lass time dat smaddy get tru to my phone numba as a <span style="font-weight: bold">diplomat</span>....
an is not di insignificance of di cawl but the total irrelevance to my career as a high commission...charities deal wid charities....too much farrin currency a spen pon embassies fi people get di idea dat dem can cawl high commissioner dem fi find out wen is mango season </div></div>
E..ah tink she get di pint..if she neva did kno before..she dun kno now
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">.too much farrin currency a spen pon embassies fi people get di idea dat dem can cawl high commissioner dem fi find out wen is mango season</div></div> waieee
evanovitch,I find your whole 2 or 3 rambling posts fairly offensive and rude and your answers are not fit for the question.
I never said I wanted to ring the high commision(about a barrel or mangoes!)
Nor did I wake up one day and think I know-i will send a barrel a farrin.
I am coming anyway for xmas and would like to give some presents out whilst I am there.
I need to speak to somebody who knows how to do this and judging by your answers -you do not.
I do not have to justify myself to anybody why I want to bring the toys-I just do and will if I ever figure out how!
If I wanted to give something to a local church or childrens home i would not be here asking for your expert advice.
a wah do unnu man ? the mango season naily mek mi drap awf a mi chair
yuh know is a pint yuh have fi real. we inna recession and times hard suh unless yuh a ship chree container, does it REALLY mek sense ? a nuh likkle time mi have likkegen books mi wouldan love send guh yard, but if mi not going down at the same time, mi nuh have nuh weh fi store dem, and it nuh mek sense mi chry battah battah wid 40 book even dough it bruk mi heart fi nuh able fi carry it dung
there are lots of places in the UK that will ship the barrel for you, if you can't find any in the yellow pages, go to the west indian shops and ask what shipping company they use.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: tictoc</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> I wish to send a barrel of toys from england to jamaica.It is not as easy as it sounds and I am running out of time!Please guide me through the process,I cannot get any easy to understand information anywhere why is it so difficult?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">btw mi no ha nutten gainst people as individuals giving tings to yaad but mi starting to ha dis problem wid people being given di idea dat govament an dem agencies and employees waiting fi every striking smaddy who feeling altruistic ,to tek up dem time answering bout wich barrel can go weh...
waste of govament resources not to mention wid so many jcans deh a england, ask one a dem an mi sure dem ha a church r project who wi tek dem
but dis referring to our govament as if we open fi every smaddy juss so is crazy
an frankly if people cannot afford to give to people far away, stawt at home....if u cannot afford di shipping to farrin, give to a local children's home
but if u intent on giving to a farrin country, is juss common sense fi identify who r wat u a sen it to, check di correct shipping an send it awf...if u cannot afford all dat, well gi dem di money u did use pon di toys
i am not against giving but if is not a ship load wid promise of more an is not rice, sugga r bread, why dis govament route help ting
no wonda people tek Ja govament fi joke...we ha some representatives a gi people di impression , u can juss walk een an tings criss fi u if u seh u a gi someting...poor Bruce...poor George...now him look like him open to some individual giving up yah in di US
feh
You know one time mi point out deh futility wey people ah ship charity....You would not beleive what deh perpetual virginal yanki call m1...
there is a minister in jamaica who will guide yu tru the process.. the iten has to be addressed to the ministry for it to be cleared without paying custom duty ...ck with ur cosulate/embassy ..or the jamaica Diaspora representive in ur part of the world
I just ckd my email and found his information..
I sent yu a PM, I have the name of the Minister who will help yu wid the process. he helped a woman fron NY who was donating items to a hospital earlier this yr ..very courteous and helpful man ..
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.