<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: deebee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">can anyone give me a link to Jamaicas knife laws?
(Not a crazy person... Just normally carry a pocket knife, and want to know if that is legal there.) </div></div> No exposed knives like on a holsters/heathe etc, also no automatic openning, like switch blade,butterfly,ratchet, or bowie.
you can carry a machette as long as you want unless you put it ina sheathe and wear it,you are introuble. a police officer will just take it and keep it for himself.
They are not too fussy about adult with a knife that closes in his pocket Idf you can pass immigration and customs with it, you can carry it. since they wil not allow youy to take in a knife that is illegal.
well, I won't be able to take it on the plane... So it will be in my luggage. If customs checks all bags, then i guess that will put it to the test.
If you have any actual documentation on allowable blade length, it would be appreciated. that way i can be sure. I'd rather not have a hassel at the airport if I don't have to.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: deebee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">well, I won't be able to take it on the plane... So it will be in my luggage. If customs checks all bags, then i guess that will put it to the test.
If you have any actual documentation on allowable blade length, it would be appreciated. that way i can be sure. I'd rather not have a hassel at the airport if I don't have to. </div></div>look man nobody is going to measure your knife.
trust me on that.
It really dosent matter about blade length. It is simply if it looks lie a weapon, you lose it.
That's all. if it looks like a knife you'r cool. I still have my swiss armyu knoife since I was a boy scout,and thes days I can't take it on board, but stil carry it ina pouch inmyluggage with my shaving stuff etc.
I have a small pocket knife that I keep in my purse. I think the longest blade is less than 3 inches long.
Anyway, I had it in my purse along with sharp tweezers (pointed) and nail clippers in my carry on. No one even mentioned it.
Then again, it may be a case of profiling. I am a middle aged woman who needs reading glasses to find my drivers license in my purse. A young man may be singled out. Especially if im nah mzungu.
I have also carried a meat cleaver in my checked bags. It made it thru ok. Wish I could say the same for flashlights & cigarette lighters.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q.K</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have a small pocket knife that I keep in my purse. I think the longest blade is less than 3 inches long.
Anyway, I had it in my purse along with sharp tweezers (pointed) and nail clippers in my carry on. No one even mentioned it.
Then again, it may be a case of profiling. I am a middle aged woman who needs reading glasses to find my drivers license in my purse. A young man may be singled out. Especially if im nah mzungu.
<span style="font-weight: bold">I have also carried a meat cleaver in my checked bags. It made it thru ok. Wish I could say the same for flashlights & cigarette lighters. </span></div></div>
Now you have special security clearance.
Or must be related to the homeland security secretary or something.. a meat cleaver?!?!.
my feet would never touch freedomif I ever carry something like that.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q.K</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I really don't fit the "profile" for homeland security. Dem nah check too many miggle age ******* ooman. </div></div>
[note to self] Tip off the TSA bout miggle age wazungu plotting fi bring machete thru security!
No knives except for checked in kitchen knives, but they kept checking me for awhile when I tried to get into Jamaica. I said something to a friend who is a corrections officer in Ja and he said they are checking older people because the drug cartel use them to get the drugs in and outta Ja. Hrumph!! to him saying older people. But I knew what he meant and he also said a 75 yr old man in poor health from US was detained and arrested trying to get back to US with drugs. He is now in prison and quite possibly won't live through his sentence. SOOOO, you never know when they are going to check your luggage. Luckily they have left me alone the last 3 trips. Guess I look younger. Tee Hee.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: deebee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">can anyone give me a link to Jamaicas knife laws?
(Not a crazy person... Just normally carry a pocket knife, and want to know if that is legal there.) </div></div> No exposed knives like on a holsters/heathe etc, also no automatic openning, like switch blade,butterfly,ratchet, or bowie.
you can carry a machette as long as you want unless you put it ina sheathe and wear it,you are introuble. a police officer will just take it and keep it for himself.
They are not too fussy about adult with a knife that closes in his pocket Idf you can pass immigration and customs with it, you can carry it. since they wil not allow youy to take in a knife that is illegal. </div></div>
Are you sure...aren't all weapons banned in Jamaica including pocket knives?
They rhad a lott of talk about enacting such a law, but it is still not on th ebooks. they have a dangerous weeapons law, but th eknoves have to be reasonably be able to be describes as aweapon. not your innocent scout knife. or the orange sellers knife.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q.K</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi cyaan even fine one machete deh a U.S.</div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.