My family have never been to JA. I want to take them Thanksgiving or Spring-break. Its hard to match up every one schedule. I think I'll spend a few days with family then head to Ochie or Mo-bay for 3days AI. I wonder how save its to drive rental in the interior of the island.
Want to go ayard 4 visit
Re: Want to go ayard 4 visit
see this trip report .
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: foolya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My family have never been to JA. I want to take them Thanksgiving or Spring-break. Its hard to match up every one schedule. I think I'll spend a few days with family then head to Ochie or Mo-bay for 3days AI. I wonder how save its to drive rental in the interior of the island. </div></div>
Re: Want to go ayard 4 visit
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: foolya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">My family have never been to JA. I want to take them Thanksgiving or Spring-break. Its hard to match up every one schedule. I think I'll spend a few days with family then head to Ochie or Mo-bay for 3days AI. I wonder how safe its to drive rental in the interior of the island. </div></div>
Well there are two ways to define safe. One is road conditions and other drivers and another is personal security.
Road conditions vary from excellent, such as Highway 2000, to hopeless, such as Toll Gate-Milk River Road.
It's not necessary to have a four wheel drive for 80% of the roads, but there are places in the interior
where you could use one. Depending how deep into the interior you go.
Based on the 60 countries I visited I'd rate Jamaicans as good but fast drivers. They drive in a practical manner and not exactly follow the rules. If it looks like it's a good place to pass, they will pass, despite the solid line. However most people from farrin who are used to driving in the cities manage just fine.
As far as personal security is concerned, 80% of it depends how you and the family carry yourself. In the cities, if you gwaan like is first time you reach back from farrin in 20 years, and draw attention you might run into trouble. Park your vehicle inside the yard and not on the street. Never leave anything in the vehicle. Even a closed bag on a back seat that's empty can look attractive. However, parking in shopping areas and in the cities is generally safe, but off course leave the inside of the car empty. In the country it's much more laid back, unless it's an area where people know you.
The rental companies offer different types of insurance for the vehicle. From comprehensive to liability only. Depending on how confident you are on the road, and the amount of driving you will do. I normally use the minimum liability option. If you get a flat, make sure you get the tire patched up before returning the vehicle, and if they ask deny that it was damaged.
Good luck.