Anyone, like Bizi or Magix know the best route to take from Kgn. airport to north coast coming out in Ochie or St. Ann's Bay???....have guests inquiring & I need help asap!...please & thanks
Best route from Kgn. airport to north coast- HELP!
Re: Best route from Kgn. airport to north coast- HELP!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: haki</div><div class="ubbcode-body">are they driving themselves
if they arent driving themselves , best mode of transP to Ochie is the Knutsford Express. from New Kgn to Ochie. </div></div>
They are thinking of renting a car, but also inquired about any other economical way I knew of....your suggestion is great. Anyone know their schedule?....guess they would have to take a taxi from airport to New Kgn. bus station.
Knutsford Express has a website and phone numbers ..
and yes , they should take a taxi from the airport to New Kingston where the Knutsford Express is located
dependable taxi service
JIM 876 891 7754 , 933 0732
are they familiar with kingston? wat tiem of day are they arriving?
getting through kingston can be tricky if you are not familar with the area..there are parts that are not very well signed...trying it after dark makes it even harder. once they get on the Madella highway the rest is easy...)take the T1 to the A1 exit toward ocho rios)When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: haki</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Knutsford Express has a website and phone numbers ..
and yes , they should take a taxi from the airport to New Kingston where the Knutsford Express is located
dependable taxi service
JIM 876 891 7754 , 933 0732 </div></div>
I directed them to the Knutsford website....still waiting to hear back to know what they plan to do.....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">are they familiar with kingston? wat tiem of day are they arriving?
getting through kingston can be tricky if you are not familar with the area..there are parts that are not very well signed...trying it after dark makes it even harder. once they get on the Madella highway the rest is easy...)take the T1 to the A1 exit toward ocho rios) </div></div>
No, they are not familiar with Kgn. & I'm not sure what time they are arriving....waiting to here back from them. Believe me, I did not reccommend them driving themselves....I don't drive to Kgn. myself....too confusing for me!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">why not the traditional route of flying to MoBay then taking a JUTA to Ochi, or driving to Ochi?
Actually, they have already booked Kgn. (to save $ they said) but are coming to stay with us in Duncans Bay. If they had asked for my advice, I would have told them to fly into Mobay....but they didn't....they may end up spending MORE money just to get to the north coast (although it is a couple & 2 kids that are flying)
It's not a bad drive as long as you don't do it during rush hour as they will be stuck in traffic for over an hour.
Kingston N.M.I.A. -Duncans
-Exit the airport, at first roundabout (with aircraft tail) turn left. Jelly coconut stand just on the left. Stop at the first one (with a big woman running it, it's better than the second one.)
-Continue on the Palisadoes Road until you reach the mainland, first roundabout turn left. Speed limit 80, don't speed as cops always waiting to catch you here.
-Continue on the highway and do not leave it. You'll be driving with the Kingston Harbour on your left for about 10min.
-Just before reaching downtown you'll see a prison on the right and the highway finish. Bear left onto Port Royal Street and continue thru downtown.
-Road becomes one way. After downtown and a little bridge over a gully bear right and merge into Marcus Garvey Drive.
-Passing Tinson Pen Aerodrome on the right you'll reach a major traffic junction and follow signs for Spanish Town road will curve right.
-At the traffic light (Portia Simpson Miller Square) turn left onto Spanish Town Road.
-After a couple kilometers it will turn left merging into Mandela Highway taking you out of the capital.
-Look for signs for T1 (Toll Road) exit to the left and enter the Hon. Usain Bolt Highway aka Highway 2000.
-Take the exit for Ocho Rios and pay toll.
-Roundabout take 2nd exit.
-Next roundabout 2nd exit
-Continue on A1 (main road) all thru Spanish Town til you leave the city.
-You'll be paralleling a river on the right.
-When traffic stops, you've reached Flat Bridge. Cross on green light and now the river will be on your left.
-Next town is Linstead. Continue on the main highway going straight through all roundabouts.
-After the next town (Ewarton) the road will climb steaply. Watch for trucks curring the narrow corners.
-You're climbing Mt. Rosser now also known as Mount Diablo.
-After the pass and a descent you'll see Faith's Pen on the left, a whole heap of booths selling nice food. You can
stop here for rest and refreshments.
-Continue down the narrow and windy highway and through the town of Moneague.
-At a junction to go to Ochi turn right. However for Duncans and MoBay bear left.
-Follow the dark pavement and the main road on the sharp bends. There are many bauxite plant crossings in the area.
-Next big town is St. Anns Bay. At a major intersection go straight, as you've merged with the North Coast Highway.
-Impossible to get lost from here. Follow the nice new highway along the coast through Runaway Bay, Discovery Bay, Rio Bueno and Braco.
-After a steed descent with spectacular views of the sea you've arrived in Duncans.
<span style="font-style: italic"><span style="font-size: 17pt"><span style="font-weight: bold">Portia av square?!!!</span>
</span></span>
Fi wha?
O comes?
Ah whe di -
Ah whe di fahhhhht ah gwan ah yahd ma?
<span style="font-weight: bold">Mi baxcide!</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magxx</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
- At the traffic light (Portia Simpson Miller Square) turn left onto Spanish Town Road.

My exact reaction when I saw the big yellow sign weh dem a put up.
Mi was there looking for one place weh sell seeds and since mi couldn't find it right away mi drive past de sign bout 3 time. It nuh have nuh statue or anything but jus a big ugly yellow sign.
....I will forward your directions along with mine to get to Duncans Bay and we'll see if they still want to rent a car.