I have not been on this board in ages-going to Jamaica for the summer, haven't been in 7 years. I'm taking a TV and wondering about a microwave. Wondering how much they are going to charge me to clear them-question: would it be more cost effective to just buy the microwave in Ochie? Also, I want to bring food from home because we're staying for the whole summer and I know it can get expensive-will they charge me to clear food? Any and all advice will be appreciated.Thanks.
questions on what to/no to bring to J after 7 years
Re: questions on what to/no to bring to J after 7 years
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evesisland2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have not been on this board in ages-going to Jamaica for the summer, haven't been in 7 years. I'm taking a TV and wondering about a microwave. Wondering how much they are going to charge me to clear them-question: would it be more cost effective to just buy the microwave in Ochie? Also, I want to bring food from home because we're staying for the whole summer and I know it can get expensive-will they charge me to clear food? Any and all advice will be appreciated.Thanks. </div></div>
I think you should take the TV,I recommend a 60 inch flat screen,and the microwave is not a bad idea too,but you`ve left out the washing machine and the dishwasher,cant be too sure when you`re travelling,it`s the lack of those tiny little things that can decide one`s enjoyment.
The food is an excellent idea,what kind of food did you have in mind,I`m not sure hamburgers and fries will last the entire summer,so you`ll have to be carefull about what you bring,pizzas may go a bit stale after a few days in the sun,so carefully planning is essential here,..good luck.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evesisland2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have not been on this board in ages-going to Jamaica for the summer, haven't been in 7 years. I'm taking a TV and wondering about a microwave. Wondering how much they are going to charge me to clear them-question: would it be more cost effective to just buy the microwave in Ochie? Also, I want to bring food from home because we're staying for the whole summer and I know it can get expensive-will they charge me to clear food? Any and all advice will be appreciated.Thanks. </div></div>
You are allowed to bring in packaged food with no duty....no fresh fruits or vegetables, uncooked meat, coffee or honey though. A microwave is pretty heavy to carry in & hard to conceal, so I think thye would charge duty...you could buy in Ochie but it will not be cheap!...Plan on paying duty on the TV, but don't know how much....sorry I can't be more help. (I bought all my TVs for my guesthouse a Yaad)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evesisland2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have not been on this board in ages-going to Jamaica for the summer, haven't been in 7 years. I'm taking a TV and wondering about a microwave. Wondering how much they are going to charge me to clear them-question: would it be more cost effective to just buy the microwave in Ochie? Also, I want to bring food from home because we're staying for the whole summer and I know it can get expensive-will they charge me to clear food? Any and all advice will be appreciated.Thanks. </div></div>
I think you should take the TV,I recommend a 60 inch flat screen,and the microwave is not a bad idea too,but you`ve left out the washing machine and the dishwasher,cant be too sure when you`re travelling,it`s the lack of those tiny little things that can decide one`s enjoyment.
The food is an excellent idea,what kind of food did you have in mind,I`m not sure hamburgers and fries will last the entire summer,so you`ll have to be carefull about what you bring,pizzas may go a bit stale after a few days in the sun,so carefully planning is essential here,..good luck. </div></div>
have to admit dis mek mi buss out laffing....u shud add a generator to supply power for di tv etc...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evesisland2</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have not been on this board in ages-going to Jamaica for the summer, haven't been in 7 years. I'm taking a TV and wondering about a microwave. Wondering how much they are going to charge me to clear them-question: would it be more cost effective to just buy the microwave in Ochie? Also, I want to bring food from home because we're staying for the whole summer and I know it can get expensive-will they charge me to clear food? Any and all advice will be appreciated.Thanks. </div></div>
The food is an excellent idea,what kind of food did you have in mind,I`m not sure hamburgers and fries will last the entire summer,so you`ll have to be carefull about what you bring,pizzas may go a bit stale after a few days in the sun,so carefully planning is essential here,..good luck. </div></div>
have to admit dis mek mi buss out laffing....u shud add a generator to supply power for di tv etc...</div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">unno leff out de</span> fridge</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">for the food I think it would be more expensive to bring it than to buy it there.
this will give you an idea
http://www.superplusfoods.com/customer/home.php </div></div>
Depends what you like to eat....if it is foreign snack foods, etc., it will be cheaper to bring with you, but if it is Jamaican foods, then don't bother bring it. There is an elevated price on imported foods, PLUS a 17.5% GC tax, so it adds up fast.
[quote=Natral a 60 inch flat screen[/quote]
60 inch TV a nah nuttin' she should go for the full home theatre experience
eves! the last time I read of someone bringing in a TV they paid duty almost equal to the purchase price, but it was still less expensive than buying one in JA. the time spent in customs alone (and the $)would deter me from bringing in anything like that unless I was moving down there for good