Im heading to Ja july 20-27 am in need of a car, i know this has probably been asked on this forum many times, but wondering if anyone knows of a car rental that does not charge a deposit as i dont have a credit card or a private car i could rent for that time?
Heading to JA July 20-27
Re: Heading to JA July 20-27
I just Googled "Renting a car without a credit card" and got some info.
It seems that some companies will rent you a car if you have a debit card linked to an account with a few hundred dollars in it. They will withdraw the deposit amount from your account and hold that money until you return the car at which time the money will be returned to your account. If you plan to use such a method I would email the rental agency and request this in writing and print it off and take it with you to show the person at the counter so that there are no surprises if they try to say that they "don't do that".
You can also purchase pre-loaded credit cards. They have a lot of the same benefits of a credit card and they are easy to get. Up here you can purchase them at almost any store. You can get them in different denominations depending on how much money you want/need.
As far as renting a car with absolutely no deposit, I cannot imagine how that could be possible.
there's lots of info at this link ...
but, as Milo mentioned, it's highly unlikely that you'll get a car without a deposit....
There are private parties that have an extra car that they rent out. Start asking people you know in the area that you will be in.
ETA I know of some one in TB that has a car that he rents out. But, I do not know what he charges or if he requires a deposit.
I also have a friend who rented a car from a friend of a friend in the Ochie area. But, i do not know the details.
Hmmm, Mi a go a yard July 23. A wonder weh yu a go deh? Mi a finalize fimi car rental wid Island Rental and plan fi circle di Island for di first week then sekkle in Negril July 29 - Aguust 2 before returning home.
Who agoh deh a Negril?