1:22 pm, Tue October 15, 2013
Representatives of the Ocho Rios Ministers Fraternal in the northern parish of St Ann, staged a peaceful protest on Tuesday near to the entrance of the Belmont property, popularly known as Little Dunn’s River.
According to Reverend Jonathan Hemmings, Chairman of the Fraternal, the church leaders are concerned about the direction in which the development seems to be heading.
“We are of the distinct impression that attempts are being made to deprive the ordinary poor Jamaican people access to this last little area on t he Ocho Rios coast t hat the ordinary man can enter unhindered . we think this represents a travesty , it is stepping back on a promise that was made on public television by the Tourism Minister,” he said.
On September 30 the Urban Development Corporation (UDC) served notice that the 3.4 acre beach property would be closed temporarily.
The UDC announced that fencing, among other things, will be undertaken to ensure that the amenities required for health, safety and comfort of visitors are in place.
UDC officials say the property is being used without the authorization of the agency and has become a source of complaint from the wider community.
Hemmings, on the other hand, is calling for the immediate restoration of public access to the property.
“We are asking them to take down the signs that prohibit persons from entering the place. Take the lock off the gate and give free access, we are also asking them to make good on their promise to upgrade the sanitary facilities and do further developments to make it safer and more comfortable for the ordinary people.”
The UDC added that there's provision for insurance coverage or proper sanitary conveniences and its current operation conflicts with the best practices within the tourism and hospitality sector.
The Corporation said the move to address the conditions of the property was aimed at protecting Brand Jamaica, generally, and the "Ocho Rios experience", in particular, by implementing a proper management framework.
ie. we want to bring it up to par so we can use it fi di tourist dem ....citizens using it all dis wile never needed our doing anyting, but now we see di value fi di farrinars' enjoyment,we deh pon spot...
Representatives of the Ocho Rios Ministers Fraternal in the northern parish of St Ann, staged a peaceful protest on Tuesday near to the entrance of the Belmont property, popularly known as Little Dunn’s River.
According to Reverend Jonathan Hemmings, Chairman of the Fraternal, the church leaders are concerned about the direction in which the development seems to be heading.
“We are of the distinct impression that attempts are being made to deprive the ordinary poor Jamaican people access to this last little area on t he Ocho Rios coast t hat the ordinary man can enter unhindered . we think this represents a travesty , it is stepping back on a promise that was made on public television by the Tourism Minister,” he said.
On September 30 the Urban Development Corporation (UDC) served notice that the 3.4 acre beach property would be closed temporarily.
The UDC announced that fencing, among other things, will be undertaken to ensure that the amenities required for health, safety and comfort of visitors are in place.
UDC officials say the property is being used without the authorization of the agency and has become a source of complaint from the wider community.
Hemmings, on the other hand, is calling for the immediate restoration of public access to the property.
“We are asking them to take down the signs that prohibit persons from entering the place. Take the lock off the gate and give free access, we are also asking them to make good on their promise to upgrade the sanitary facilities and do further developments to make it safer and more comfortable for the ordinary people.”
The UDC added that there's provision for insurance coverage or proper sanitary conveniences and its current operation conflicts with the best practices within the tourism and hospitality sector.
The Corporation said the move to address the conditions of the property was aimed at protecting Brand Jamaica, generally, and the "Ocho Rios experience", in particular, by implementing a proper management framework.
ie. we want to bring it up to par so we can use it fi di tourist dem ....citizens using it all dis wile never needed our doing anyting, but now we see di value fi di farrinars' enjoyment,we deh pon spot...