Re: St. Bess - The Return
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CEW</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'll have to post pics from home, but in the interim, I'm taking a detour from our day activities to share a bit of the church side of things. As some of you know, for me there's nothing quite like a worship service in Jamaica. The North American experience in its air-conditioned buildings, soft padded chairs, overhead projectors, professional sound boards, expensive musical instruments, and everything else, seem to often pale in comparison to the sounds of tambourines, guitars, drums, hand clapping, foot stomping, and the occasional off-key singing coming from the worship leaders. There is a richness in the worship that not only fills the soul, but is very hard to explain.
Regardless of their station in life, these people loved to worship. <span style="font-weight: bold">Choruses had them moving in ways that rivalled any of the 'clean' moves seen at a reggae concert.
</span> They knew the hymns by heart so the voices rose with hardly anyone looking in a hymnal. The mode of dressing intrigued me. Yes, there were the broad hats and some of the ladies were dressed to the hilt but then there were those who came in what they had. Simple dresses or blouse and skirts, flip flops, tied heads, all kinds of T-shirts, and I loved it. In some of our NA churches, they would be out of place and probably wouldn't feel comfortable, but here they were in their element, all coming together to praise and worship. Then it struck me - regardless of what they were wearing, the females were all modestly attired; nothing hanging out, nothing too revealing. It was refreshing to see
Then of course, there were the testimonies, perhaps the most "dramatic" part of any service. The first person up didn't disappoint me: "Praise di Lawd, saints", "Praise di Lawd"; "Let's praise Him again"; "Praise di Lawd". It was priceless
Nothing like a heartfelt, emotional testimony delivered in patois
How about the man who could swear like a sailor, but had given his life to Christ? He stood, mike in hand, searching for the right words before finally saying, <span style="font-weight: bold">"Pastor, God damn good to hell yu nuh."</span> <span style="color: #CC0000"> Have Mercy!! ROTFL*
</span> Laughing spoil, as that one simply cracked me up
, but I had to give him a lot of respect
I'll remember that one for as long as I live.
Ah, Jamaica. More on the service side of things later in the report.
Awright, mi haffi stop right here soh!!
Now this is classic!!!!
Dear Lord!!!! I love this scene...
Ohh the memories of my people..Lord help us!!

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CEW</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'll have to post pics from home, but in the interim, I'm taking a detour from our day activities to share a bit of the church side of things. As some of you know, for me there's nothing quite like a worship service in Jamaica. The North American experience in its air-conditioned buildings, soft padded chairs, overhead projectors, professional sound boards, expensive musical instruments, and everything else, seem to often pale in comparison to the sounds of tambourines, guitars, drums, hand clapping, foot stomping, and the occasional off-key singing coming from the worship leaders. There is a richness in the worship that not only fills the soul, but is very hard to explain.
Regardless of their station in life, these people loved to worship. <span style="font-weight: bold">Choruses had them moving in ways that rivalled any of the 'clean' moves seen at a reggae concert.

Then of course, there were the testimonies, perhaps the most "dramatic" part of any service. The first person up didn't disappoint me: "Praise di Lawd, saints", "Praise di Lawd"; "Let's praise Him again"; "Praise di Lawd". It was priceless

Ah, Jamaica. More on the service side of things later in the report.
Awright, mi haffi stop right here soh!!

Now this is classic!!!!

Ohh the memories of my people..Lord help us!!