May 20 2010, I get ready to go to Kingston Jamaica, on the crest of the tension of the whole Dudus affair, but I don't worry too much about myself, I pray for my safety, the safety of my loved ones and the safety of Jamaica. When I travel I generally need a lot of pockets so I'm wearing a spring jacket, going through customs I see people fanning themselves, already affected by the heat, I feel alright so I keep on my jacket, thinking hey I'm tough I can handle this heat. I clear customs and make y way to the parking lot, as soon as I step outside sweat explodes out of my face. I think I can handle the heat up to the car, HA foolish me SO I reluctantly ask my girlfriend who picked me up to take one of my bags, she laughs saying she's never seen me ask for help before, that made me feel a little old but to be fair I didn't sleep a wink the night before or on the plane and the heat sapped what was left of my strength.
So my girlfriend starts telling me everything that's going on, I let her know I'm aware of it but everything will be ok. We go to our new apartment. The place is gated very well, much more than I pictured, we get to the apt and it's a nice little spot. nothing special but I like it (no pics because my better half wouldn't allow it until she sets it up in a way that makes her proud. I laugh but I comply, clearly it's very important to her. So we settle in then get ready to visit her sister. Now I remember arriving and the sun was blazing, when we left rain clouds formed. we visited her sister and I caught up with them a nice mellow evening,
afterwards we had to make a run to megamart to buy groceries and supplies for the apt. So I tell her I need to hit the scotibank ATM, there's one in megamart so that's fine. I take out what I think willbe more than enough and I join her in the aisles, she keeps picking up stuff and in my head I'm running the tab, worry sets in as much as I remember JA being expensive, I underestimated the expense. She sees the look on my face and asks what's wrong, I don't want her to know I'm worried about the $$ so I say I'm a little tired, she sees through it and she looks for better deals, but I'm still fretting. we get to the cash register I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH A LONG RECEIPT, and the cash I took out, not enough I reluctantly break out something I'd see a lot of for the next two weeks,, my credit card. sigh.
BUT despite this IO'm happy, the next day we are meeting with her cousin and her boyfriend and heading up into the mountains, which I'm very excited about as I've never been there and the plan for this trip was to see more of JA and do a lot of fun things. so after watching This is It on DVD (an early birthday present to her from me) we head to bed, the AC in the room was my best friend. I couldn't wait until morning came.
to be continued, sorry no pics yet.
So my girlfriend starts telling me everything that's going on, I let her know I'm aware of it but everything will be ok. We go to our new apartment. The place is gated very well, much more than I pictured, we get to the apt and it's a nice little spot. nothing special but I like it (no pics because my better half wouldn't allow it until she sets it up in a way that makes her proud. I laugh but I comply, clearly it's very important to her. So we settle in then get ready to visit her sister. Now I remember arriving and the sun was blazing, when we left rain clouds formed. we visited her sister and I caught up with them a nice mellow evening,
afterwards we had to make a run to megamart to buy groceries and supplies for the apt. So I tell her I need to hit the scotibank ATM, there's one in megamart so that's fine. I take out what I think willbe more than enough and I join her in the aisles, she keeps picking up stuff and in my head I'm running the tab, worry sets in as much as I remember JA being expensive, I underestimated the expense. She sees the look on my face and asks what's wrong, I don't want her to know I'm worried about the $$ so I say I'm a little tired, she sees through it and she looks for better deals, but I'm still fretting. we get to the cash register I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH A LONG RECEIPT, and the cash I took out, not enough I reluctantly break out something I'd see a lot of for the next two weeks,, my credit card. sigh.
BUT despite this IO'm happy, the next day we are meeting with her cousin and her boyfriend and heading up into the mountains, which I'm very excited about as I've never been there and the plan for this trip was to see more of JA and do a lot of fun things. so after watching This is It on DVD (an early birthday present to her from me) we head to bed, the AC in the room was my best friend. I couldn't wait until morning came.
to be continued, sorry no pics yet.
I've started using the supermarket out in Cross Rd, behind (or is it in front of?) Carib theatre. Can get bulk items there and the price not as high as mega mart. Yu will still get di half a mile long receipt doh. LOL!