Re: And the Kids Came: Touching Hearts, Changing Lives
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChurchDude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It was now Wednesday night and the nightly meetings were going extremely well. It seemed we had the kids in the days and their parents at nights but it was all good. On this night there was a spirit of praise going and these wonderful people sang and sang as if there would be no tomorrow. And could they dance! At one point I looked at the clock and it was 9:00 p.m. and we were still singing and praising. I loved every minute of it; the reckless abandon with which they worshiped was something we craved, not because we didn't worship in our home church but this was different. Back home everything was like an oiled machine, going according to schedule with an eye on the time, but here they didn't pay attention to the clock. Service finished whenever it finished; right now every problem was forgotten, every sickness had to lay low - this was God's people praising and worshiping and nothing was going to stop them.
The clips below were taken during what seemed like 20-30 minutes of non-stop singing, clapping, dancing, and whatever else. It was really cool seeing them leave their seats to come dance in the aisle and up front, grabbing anyone who was willing as a dance partner. It was awesome! As I took the video camera, it occurred to me that these people could wear me out - easily. The rest of the team was hanging on admirably.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Bun dem bun dem wid de Holy Gost
Fiyah Fiyah fe de enemy
that kind of singing dancing and prasing brings back good memories
thanks for sharing </div></div>
It's been my pleasure. That "bun dem" song just cracks me up everytime.
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A na One Praya Mi Pray,
Mi pray ina night and we pray ina day
And every time mi go pon mi knee
Devil afi run way
A na One Praya Mi Pray,
Mi pray ina night and we pray ina day
Demons hafi run way </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ChurchDude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Oh yeah, did I mention the spirit of praise during the service? Well, we found out later that the barrels were delivered while service was going on! Can you say miracle??? </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SweetSsop</div><div class="ubbcode-body">BTW can I get the rest of that sing </div></div>
Here's the whole thing....
<span style="font-weight: bold">A Nuh One Praya Mi Pray
Chorus:</span>
A nuh one praya mi pray,
Mi pray ina night and mi pray ina day
Devil afi run way
A nuh one praya mi pray,
Mi pray ina night and mi pray ina day
Demons hafi run way
<span style="font-weight: bold">Verse 1:</span>
When di devil a come (when di devil a come)
Sai me na go run (sai me na go run)
Cause I’m covered by di blood (the blood of Jesus)
Of the Almighty
And when di heden appear (when di heden appear)
Sai mi have no fear (sai mi have no fear)
‘Cause mi daddy is here
‘Im have a standad you can bear (He’s my daddy-o)
<span style="font-weight: bold">(Chorus)
Verse 2:</span>
When di devil attack (when di devil attack)
God a cova me back (God a cova me back)
Him a mi sheal and rock
And dats a fac
When di devil a talk (when di devil a talk)
Mi a ga ansa back (we a ga ansa back)
‘Im a go get one shot, John 3:16 teck care a dat
<span style="font-weight: bold">(Chorus) x2
Outro:</span>
Run dem out, from u workplace
Run dem out, from u school
Run dem out from u business place
Run dem out, run dem out
Chase dem, chase dem
Run demon, run demon
Blood of Jesus is against you
Run dem out a u school
Run dem out a u house
Run dem out a u car
Run dem, run dem
Run dem out a u school...
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
A picture of happiness...
I didn't take the next couple of pictures but they reflect the bonding relationship between one of the team leads and some of the kids...
These were like sisters meeting for the first time. The one on the right had previously "adopted" the
father of the one on the left who was a part of previous mission trips.
More big sister stuff...
These kids were so adorable we so wanted to take them all home...
Some last day action...
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/N6l-QlwQ5GA"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/N6l-QlwQ5GA" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
In this clip two of the leaders are reviewing one of the day's memory verse with the group.
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/dq1hd1Mhr_A"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/dq1hd1Mhr_A" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Talent on display - Jesus love is a bubbling over...
I don't know who looked forward to the "talent shows" more - the kids or us adults. The number and diversity of songs they sung were quite impressive and of course, for the most part the majority, if not all of the kids, knew every song. There is something to be said for exposing children at an early age to the truth of the Word. Of course, that exposure doesn't guarantee that each child will grow into their adult years holding fast to their professed beliefs, but I have to believe that it is not something they are likely to forget. Proverbs 22:6 reminds us, "Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it." <span style="font-style: italic">The Message</span> paraphrases it, "Point your kids in the right direction-- when they're old they won't be lost." There is a lot of truth in that statement.
Here one of the kids sings, "Jesus on the telephone, tell Him what you need / Tell him what you need right now." As they deal with their present challenges, and those of growing up, may they be reminded of the truth in that song.
There was too much anxious energy in the sanctuary. The kids were very much aware of and could see the gift bags and every now and then a couple of them would wander over to have a look. While they knew they had to get through the day's lesson, one could see the distraction - when would they get the bags?
We had an early lunch; the kids had a cooked meal which we had insisted on before we arrived in Jamaica. After lunch it was time for the presentations. As was the case last year, in addition to every child receiving a gift bag, each child got a VBS certificate, either of completion (at least three days attendance) or for participation (less than three days attendance).
Getting ready for the presentations...
Waiting anxiously...
Pleased as punch...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.