Re: Grand Canyon or Bust...dirty SW tent tour II

I don't know how to describe this next day...other than "through the lense of a spoiled tourist".
This last picture was of a magnificent new hotel the Navahos have built/are still constructing, that has a view to die for. We went inside the hotel to find a cash machine, so we could pay the tribal park admittance fee of $5/head, cuz plastic wuzn't accepted at the fee booth.
An hour earlier THE cash machine at the Gouldings complex wasn't working.
The hotel machine had an "out of order" sign on it.
The front desk had no solution for us.
Neither did any place else, except 30 miles south in Kayenta, we were told. (<span style="font-style: italic">dude takes deep breath</span>).
Why all the trouble? All we wanted to do was drive on a dirt road there and avoid having to pay a minimum of $70/head for a 3 hour tour in a cattle car owned by a bunch of off-rez yts!
Anyway, to make a long story short...After much time and effort, I procurred $20 cash w/o driving 60 miles, we paid the fee, encountered some other [censored], drove one mile in a traffic jam of Escalades and Lincoln Navigators... grumbling about how the best roads for views were "off limits" to self-guided tourists like us.......it was all to much!
We turned around, went back to camp, packed up and split north 15 miles to the valley of the Gods...(nevermind the $25 we had pre-paid for the next night.)
To appreciate all this ya gotta appreciate the difference between the Navaho and the Hopi. They don't get along.
<span style="font-style: italic">Navahos sold their weapons grade uranium rights for beads?</span>
anyway, what we <span style="font-style: italic">did</span> see wuz beautiful!

I don't know how to describe this next day...other than "through the lense of a spoiled tourist".
This last picture was of a magnificent new hotel the Navahos have built/are still constructing, that has a view to die for. We went inside the hotel to find a cash machine, so we could pay the tribal park admittance fee of $5/head, cuz plastic wuzn't accepted at the fee booth.
An hour earlier THE cash machine at the Gouldings complex wasn't working.
The hotel machine had an "out of order" sign on it.
The front desk had no solution for us.
Neither did any place else, except 30 miles south in Kayenta, we were told. (<span style="font-style: italic">dude takes deep breath</span>).
Why all the trouble? All we wanted to do was drive on a dirt road there and avoid having to pay a minimum of $70/head for a 3 hour tour in a cattle car owned by a bunch of off-rez yts!
Anyway, to make a long story short...After much time and effort, I procurred $20 cash w/o driving 60 miles, we paid the fee, encountered some other [censored], drove one mile in a traffic jam of Escalades and Lincoln Navigators... grumbling about how the best roads for views were "off limits" to self-guided tourists like us.......it was all to much!
We turned around, went back to camp, packed up and split north 15 miles to the valley of the Gods...(nevermind the $25 we had pre-paid for the next night.)
To appreciate all this ya gotta appreciate the difference between the Navaho and the Hopi. They don't get along.
<span style="font-style: italic">Navahos sold their weapons grade uranium rights for beads?</span>
anyway, what we <span style="font-style: italic">did</span> see wuz beautiful!

hey Missie LB ~
(is Jaith lurkin?

I will mek sure she come find you ~

ps...the best come randomly from the car window within hrs of home...of course. ----coming up.