I don't post much and mostly just lurk but I had to come and comment. Thank you so much for taking the time to post these pictures and give us your thoughts on Angola. They are beautiful, wonderful, and so much appreciated..especially for those to those of us who probably will never get over to that side of the world!
interesting. when i stayed with my grandmother in the country i would see the women going to market with the things on them head like that. Never see anybody carrying the children on them back tho'
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Never see anybody carrying the children on them back tho'
</div></div> not common in jamaica...but they say that children who are carried like this (often all d y while the mother works) tend to be better socialized and less violent.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Never see anybody carrying the children on them back tho'
Carrying small children on your back tied with a towel, blanket, cloth or headscarf is very common throughout Africa.
It allows the woman to go about her business without much interference.
Also it puts the baby to sleep right away. My friend from Zimbabwe, when her daughter wouldn't fall asleep and fuss
would tie her on her back and the girl would immediatelly stop crying and fall asleep. Try it, it works great.
Just make sure seh you tie de ting good so the baby nuh frop out.
As far as carrying stuff on your head, it's only popular in certain African countries. You'll never see it in Kenya,
but everybody does it in Ghana and Angola too. In South Africa you don't see it either. It's actually better for your
spine to carry a load on your head instead of in your hand, as the weight is distributed more evenly.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Carrying small children on your back tied with a towel, blanket, cloth or headscarf is very common throughout Africa.
It allows the woman to go about her business without much interference. </div></div>
eeh heeh. me just wondering how come/why that practice neva tek root in Jamaica.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Try it, it works great. </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.