I went to Morocco in another lifetime!! Amazing country!
Be sure to go to Essaouira on the coast, lovely laid-bac town, we rented a room in a house where the louvre shutters opened up on to the sea!! Huge beach there too with camels loping along it!
And Ouarzazate, in the Atlas mountains, didn't go there myself but the photos are stunning!
That's the area where many films are made that need an arabic ambience (SATC2 was filmed in Morocco)
The only thing that puts me off going to Morocco again is the hassle from the men!
<span style="font-size: 17pt">This thread is reserved for SandiF's trip report to Morocco. Tek pikcha of the food and markets please. Mek sure yuh come wid nuff nuff pikcha and report as soon as yuh come back. Or else!! </span>
Oh yea, SandiF, pop down to your local dvd rental place and ask
if they have "The Sheltering Sky", about an American couple who go to Morocco, it's a very good film and will give you an idea of how it is there, get you in the mood
Oh yea, and check if you need any vaccinations! Very important!
I still get goosebumps from my time (now eons ago) there.
I was there in the summer (like July) lawd di heat
I took the ferry from Spain and spent 2 weeks roaming the place.
I do not know if they still have the equal parts Christian, Islam tradition...but to watch it on practice was fascinating.
That square Place de Jemaa el Fna with its snake charmers and eerie music is straight out of 1001 nights!
There's a nice cafe terrace upstairs (if it is still there)where you can sit and watch the action.
Morrocco is Muslim, so appropriate attire is recommended! (or you'll get lots of hassle).
I used to wear long cotton skirts, good in the heat, and t-shirts with short sleeves (no tank tops).
<span style="font-style: italic">Religion: Islam is the established state religion of Morocco. Almost the entire population is Sunni Muslim. The monarch is the supreme Muslim authority in the country. About 1 percent of the population is Christian, and less than 0.2 percent is Jewish.</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Marielle</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Oh yea, SandiF, pop down to your local dvd rental place and ask
if they have "The Sheltering Sky", about an American couple who go to Morocco, it's a very good film and will give you an idea of how it is there, get you in the mood
Oh yea, and check if you need any vaccinations! Very important! </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.