Re: Japan and Bali
Then it was time to go

Hi All
For those boardites who are facebook we have a Boardite Facebook Group. Be sure to check it out.
, curry, sake, green tea etc etc. Next we passed to the indoor baths (still in our swimsuits) to try out the Dead Sea bath, the swedish (sauna, then cold water, then hot water), and the doctor fish experience (they eat the dead skin on your feet.) Then we tried out the crazy water slides outside. 
M-chan and I were immensely charmed by a five year old boy trying out his english on us. The first question he asked me was "Are you feeling good?" Cho cute!
In terms of hours of thought-free, uncomplicated fun, this day won HANDS DOWN.
I was surprised Yunessun wasn't mentioned in the guidebook, but obviously it's mentioned somewhere because there were a good number of us foreigners there. The day had been soooo good, and so exhausting. I slept all the way back to Asaka.

Basically tank top and shorts...M-chan told me to close my eyes and don't think bout infections
). D-chan mentioned that there was a ferry that could take us directly to Asakusa. Of course!
A cruise across the Bay and up the Sumida river. The trip was not the MOST scenic, but it had its moments. The most amazing thing for me was to see so many people pouring off the ferry boat at our mainland transfer point. We asked: was there something special going on up in Asakusa? Why yes, someone replied, there's a festival.
By sheer coincidence we were heading to Asakusa on the day of the Sanja Matsuri festival, where hundreds of traditionally clad men and women were parading portable shrines through the street and up to Senso-ji temple. What a lovely, amazing stroke of good luck to stumble on this extravaganza.

I'm so glad you are enjoying the report and thanks for the compliment.
Japan wasn't initially on my top ten list either, but I sure am glad I went. I'm not going to lie, it seemed like I got some serious stares everywhere we went outside Tokyo. A few kids actually STARTLED when they saw me.
I was like, don't you people have TV? Within Tokyo I got a lot of covert looks, a few people even went out of their way not to sit next to me on the train
. But minor unpleasantness was more than made up for by the people who DID go out of their way to escort me to a destination, or help translate for me, or help turn me in the right direction.

Anyway, the room was just a place to clean-up and sleep, because the real vacation was outside in the city.
Sumimasen! Gomen nasai! Gomen nasai! I could see he was
, I would be
too. Thankfully, his report was saved by the laminated cover, and only a little part of his pants got wet. But I wanted to hide beneath my seat and not come out until Kyoto, of course. Mercifully, he got off at a stop 30 minutes later, so we wouldn't have to sit in annoyed silence the whole 2hrs 47min. I think he had a great story to tell at the office that morning.
It actually FEELS like its going fast. Does that make sense? On the shinkansen there is just this crazy sensation of being propelled forward very rapidly, the landscape outside not so much flowing past as being dragged along with us. At any point I expected us to be going Back to the Future.
And to reiterate, the JR pass is pricey, but worth every penny. Just the one way journey from Kyoto to Tokyo on the shinkansen, costs 149CDN.
I bought a one week pass for two times that amount. And the pass can be used on ANY JR line and on ANY JR transport throughout Japan.
One other thing I discovered to my detriment that morning: JR trains are on time. If they are scheduled to leave at one minute past the hour they WILL leave at one minute past the hour, so you better be on platform at one minute BEFORE the hour, or yuh get leff. 
I crossed the street to the Post Office to take some money from the international ATM there, and then headed around the corner to the Japan Tourism Bureau to book my guided English tour of Kyoto and Nara. Finally, consulting the guide I noticed that I was only 15 minutes away from the Higashi Honganji temple, so I set off walking.
Bright and sunny, temp in at least the high 20's. My little weekend bag and backpack seem to gain 10 pounds with every 10 metres I walked and with every step the sun was just burning out my soulcase. I had broken my glasses, but at least I had my baseball cap. I walked and sweated and cursed, and sweated and cursed some more. When I reached the temple I saw on the walls:

), walked back and forth, back and forth. How could I get lost? The map says my hotel is straight in that direction. Where the heck am I?
I had to find some shade, put down my bags and physically ground myself before I had a spectacular melt down in the middle of this foreign city. I looked at the map again. Obviously the sun had baked out my brains. The street I was on dead ended in a North/South-running shopping avenue. I reasoned I would take that avenue north and it dump me out on another street close to my hotel.
I mean, this shouldn't have been so difficult, after all unlike Tokyo, Kyoto is laid out in a grid pattern. Ten minutes later I was at my hotel. And Forty-five minutes after <span style="font-style: italic">that </span>I was on my way to Ponto-cho to see the geiko and maiko of the Kamagawo Odori do their traditional dances to honour the spring.

; these ladies are highly sought-after entertainers. I know I paid a pretty penny for my seat and was thoroughly satisfied.
He was very happy with me.

We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.