I lost my best friend to the the first tower of the WTC.
I never thought I would be able to "see" New York or walk in New York again.
I went back last September 11th for the 5 year memorial. I planned to go alone because I knew it would be very difficult and painful because I never imagined to be there without her - my friend.
At the last minute, I asked my mother to come with me for the 4 days. Like a good mother when she is needed (and asked) - she cancelled everything. Likkle Mo stayed home with Grandpa (also a first, but fun for her).
When I was flying in, I purposely avoided looking out the window for the trademark skyline of days gone by.
I arrived in Mid-town Manhatten, and avoided the WTC area. My Mom encouraged me to let her take me to the site the day before the memorial to "prepare". We went about 6 a.m. because I didn't want to be a part of the masses conveining for the memorial the next day. I took flowers, I sat in the cemetary for an hour (at least) before I could walk down. I cried for my friend, and I cried for what New York used to be and mean to me.
It was a good thing to do. It DID make the lengthy memorial the next day slightly easier (except all of the news people dem wanting to ask questions about who I was there for, how my life had changed, etc.)
And then, the day after, it was as if New York was this fresh, new, wonderful place again. A "new" New York - a strong New York. I pretended like I was seeing this new place for the very first time.
I took my Mom to Central Park's Tavern on the Green for lunch to thank her for all she did to help, support and encourage me. I took her on a harbour cruise (she has never been to New York).
We did tourist things, we drank a little too much at Bond 45 while the bartender told us about the old Vaudeville days, we walked and walked. We attended a prayer for peace at Deepak Chopra's centre on Broadway.
I felt refreshed going home - the weight of the loss of my Berry was gone. I was able to say good bye - sort of.
And now I am constantly yearning to go back and show Likkle Mo New York now (even though I thought I would never take her because it would be too hard to explain "the towers" and why Auntie Berry wasn't there).
I want her to see the great things in New York that you will find no where else in the world - the Museum of Natural History, Broadway, etc, etc. etc.
To anyone who has bad expeiences in NYC, or sees "more crime", etc. I will echo the sentiment of anyone else who "knows" New York. It is all in how you carry yourself, and it is all about knowing how to keep your eyes on your surroundings and know what to do when confronted with a difficult situation - LIKE ANYWHERE ELSE IN THE WORLD! New York is not only beautiful, but compared to many of the cities and countries that I visited and lived in in the world (Jamaica for example), I find it more safe, with more people to help you if necessary, especially in light of September 11, 2000.
Thanks for the inspiration to share my experiences on my last trip to New York Sammy!
I never thought I would be able to "see" New York or walk in New York again.
I went back last September 11th for the 5 year memorial. I planned to go alone because I knew it would be very difficult and painful because I never imagined to be there without her - my friend.
At the last minute, I asked my mother to come with me for the 4 days. Like a good mother when she is needed (and asked) - she cancelled everything. Likkle Mo stayed home with Grandpa (also a first, but fun for her).
When I was flying in, I purposely avoided looking out the window for the trademark skyline of days gone by.
I arrived in Mid-town Manhatten, and avoided the WTC area. My Mom encouraged me to let her take me to the site the day before the memorial to "prepare". We went about 6 a.m. because I didn't want to be a part of the masses conveining for the memorial the next day. I took flowers, I sat in the cemetary for an hour (at least) before I could walk down. I cried for my friend, and I cried for what New York used to be and mean to me.
It was a good thing to do. It DID make the lengthy memorial the next day slightly easier (except all of the news people dem wanting to ask questions about who I was there for, how my life had changed, etc.)
And then, the day after, it was as if New York was this fresh, new, wonderful place again. A "new" New York - a strong New York. I pretended like I was seeing this new place for the very first time.
I took my Mom to Central Park's Tavern on the Green for lunch to thank her for all she did to help, support and encourage me. I took her on a harbour cruise (she has never been to New York).
We did tourist things, we drank a little too much at Bond 45 while the bartender told us about the old Vaudeville days, we walked and walked. We attended a prayer for peace at Deepak Chopra's centre on Broadway.
I felt refreshed going home - the weight of the loss of my Berry was gone. I was able to say good bye - sort of.
And now I am constantly yearning to go back and show Likkle Mo New York now (even though I thought I would never take her because it would be too hard to explain "the towers" and why Auntie Berry wasn't there).
I want her to see the great things in New York that you will find no where else in the world - the Museum of Natural History, Broadway, etc, etc. etc.
To anyone who has bad expeiences in NYC, or sees "more crime", etc. I will echo the sentiment of anyone else who "knows" New York. It is all in how you carry yourself, and it is all about knowing how to keep your eyes on your surroundings and know what to do when confronted with a difficult situation - LIKE ANYWHERE ELSE IN THE WORLD! New York is not only beautiful, but compared to many of the cities and countries that I visited and lived in in the world (Jamaica for example), I find it more safe, with more people to help you if necessary, especially in light of September 11, 2000.
Thanks for the inspiration to share my experiences on my last trip to New York Sammy!