What a FUN treat to spot a Moose in the wild! And even better treat when you just happen to be able to catch him with your camera! Was I afraid he would come and charge me and stomp me for bothering him? No! I was just too excited to be able to snap his photo as he sauntered off.
Re: Here Moosie Moosie...Let me take your picture!
It was really exciting to see this moose! It was the first time I had ever seen one when I had a camera with me! Compry I don't know if I was brave or stupid, lol. But I didn't sense any danger at all. There were about 5 of us that had stopped to gawk and he seemed as interested in us as we were in him. I was the only one that got out of the car though, but the others probably didn't have a camera!
Rich, he does look a little thin. We have had a horrific winter and the very worst spring. He should fatten up nicely now though, and get rid of the shaggy gray winter fur that you see hanging from his side.
Hey Tuff Gong, later this summer if it is a he, he will have his antlers back. They shed them in April and grow a new set every year. I THINK it is a boy (bull), because of the way he was acting, like he was curious. That is the kind of behavior that could get him shot. It seems the girls (cows) are more timid and shy to show themselves so.
Wandabe and Bandi, isn't he grand! I was looking for him today when I drove by the spot where he was on saturday. I suppose I will be watching for him every time I drive by there for a long time!
HE is why I don't like driving at night around here. There are so many deer it's like one of those computer driving games trying to avoid the deer, and then there are the moose which I can't een imagine hitting. It would be kinda like hitting a wall I think!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">HE is why I don't like driving at night around here. There are so many deer it's like one of those computer driving games trying to avoid the deer, and then there are the moose which I can't een imagine hitting. It would be kinda like hitting a wall I think! </div></div>
That is my only fear while driving,that I will hit a deer.
Hey Tuff Gong, it's a valid fear! I don't hit the deer so far, but THREE deer have hit me! Usually when you hit the deer, in the aftermath you know what the hell happened. It is a hell of a shock when they hit you though! Out of nowhere they jump out of a ditch and bounce off the side of the car! The one that REALLY scared me hit my drivers side door. Cruising along and all I knew was there is a huge crashing sound out of the dark!
There once was a couple that lived across the lake. They had a Honda Goldwing. They were cruising along and a moose jumped in front of them. That was the end of them. You couldn't pay me to ride a motorcycle out here at night!
Quoting Nanook "He is why I don't like driving at night around here. There are so many deer it's like one of those computer driving games trying to avoid the deer, and then there are the moose which I can't een imagine hitting. It would be kinda like hitting a wall I think!"
Yep - hitting a deer will damage your car - hitting a moose will kill you!
I think damask did hit a moose [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/eek2.gif[/img]
Mek mi tell her to come post about it....
I know her car mash up, and she did sore for weeks [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img]
But she still alive [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nanook</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hey Tuff Gong, it's a valid fear! I don't hit the deer so far, but THREE deer have hit me! Usually when you hit the deer, in the aftermath you know what the hell happened. It is a hell of a shock when they hit you though! Out of nowhere they jump out of a ditch and bounce off the side of the car! The one that REALLY scared me hit my drivers side door. Cruising along and all I knew was there is a huge crashing sound out of the dark!
There once was a couple that lived across the lake. They had a Honda Goldwing. They were cruising along and a moose jumped in front of them. That was the end of them. You couldn't pay me to ride a motorcycle out here at night! </div></div>
Pretty rough stuff!
IfI lived there I would be drving a Trailer Head to the store....let them run inna dat!
Hey QK how ya doin. Yeah Corvettes are big fun but they sure aren't built for hitting things like deer!
Bandi, I would love to hear Damask hit a moose story. Glad to hear she survived! I can imagine it wouldn't be much different than hitting a cow or a horse!
Tuff Gong, a lot of people out here have what amounts to cow catchers on the front of their trucks, like what you see on the front of a lot of semi trucks.
WandaBe, so far the deer that have hit me, at least they didn't leave any marks on the car!
I would just love to see this guy again. It was only 4 miles away from where I am so I even find myself watching for him out the window sometimes!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.