<span style='font-size: 11pt'>It was Mama's birthday and I gave her a card. She gave me that “supp'm betta inna it” look. Now, Mama is the type of person who does not like to leave her house. Nope, not at all. She doesn't even want to go out to eat. “No sah! Di money weh mi woulda tek spen pan food coulda go supamawkit an buy some food fi last a few days”. I thought what can I give Mama for her birthday that I know she'd love. A-ha!! I'll take her to Chicago for a weekend. Just her and me. She's my grandmother and the one who raised me. I'm her first grandchild and so I'm spoiled to no ends. You have “Daddy's girl” or “Mama's Boy”, but I'm “Grandmother's Girl”. She holds a very special place in my heart.
I booked the tickets on Amtrak and a room at the Chicago Hilton on Michigan Ave. I wanted to be in heart of Chi-town. It's only a 4 ½ hours ride to Chicago from Detroit on Amtrak; not too long of a ride for her to get impatient and jittery. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img] The plan was to leave the Saturday and return the Monday. Anyhow, I gave her the card and waited for her to open it. She did and out fell the itinerary and train tickets. “Buh si yah! A wah dis yah yuh a gimmi? Tekki and read it cause mi nuh able git up fi mi glasses”. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/laugh.gif[/img]
So I read the itinerary. I'm not getting the happy and surprised look on her face like I'm expecting. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] “Lawks, mi haffi guh left mi husban fi suh long?!” “Mama, he'll be just fine. Mommy will be here so he won't be left alone.” She acts like Papa is bed-ridden and can't help himself. Au contrare! Papa is the youngest 70 year old I know. Di man still a juggle him landscaping hustling and a run big ole lawn mower like seh him a 20.
Here's are some pics from our journey. You should have seen her on the train, peering through the window and admiring the scenery. The look on her face was just magical when she stood in the middle of Grant Park and admired the Chicago skyline. This was from summer '06 and my grandmother still raves about it. It's one of those trips that will forever be embedded in my memory and heart. It certainly warms my heart to know she had such a great time.
Mama and I at the Chicago Hilton. Of all the weekends to go, we went when they had the Veterans Convention. I have never seen so many elderly people on motor-scooters in one place before. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crazy.gif[/img]

At the Art Institute

Millennium Park

I booked the tickets on Amtrak and a room at the Chicago Hilton on Michigan Ave. I wanted to be in heart of Chi-town. It's only a 4 ½ hours ride to Chicago from Detroit on Amtrak; not too long of a ride for her to get impatient and jittery. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/smile.gif[/img] The plan was to leave the Saturday and return the Monday. Anyhow, I gave her the card and waited for her to open it. She did and out fell the itinerary and train tickets. “Buh si yah! A wah dis yah yuh a gimmi? Tekki and read it cause mi nuh able git up fi mi glasses”. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/laugh.gif[/img]
So I read the itinerary. I'm not getting the happy and surprised look on her face like I'm expecting. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] “Lawks, mi haffi guh left mi husban fi suh long?!” “Mama, he'll be just fine. Mommy will be here so he won't be left alone.” She acts like Papa is bed-ridden and can't help himself. Au contrare! Papa is the youngest 70 year old I know. Di man still a juggle him landscaping hustling and a run big ole lawn mower like seh him a 20.
Here's are some pics from our journey. You should have seen her on the train, peering through the window and admiring the scenery. The look on her face was just magical when she stood in the middle of Grant Park and admired the Chicago skyline. This was from summer '06 and my grandmother still raves about it. It's one of those trips that will forever be embedded in my memory and heart. It certainly warms my heart to know she had such a great time.
Mama and I at the Chicago Hilton. Of all the weekends to go, we went when they had the Veterans Convention. I have never seen so many elderly people on motor-scooters in one place before. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crazy.gif[/img]

At the Art Institute

Millennium Park