[bas mi a read dis , mi a wonda if di hardtimes a go affek oonoo men wid oonoo lovelife and oonoo boops, male r female wid fi oonoo....u know , di giffs, di likkle packit money,di clothes etc and di trips go yaad r wheeva di loved one deh] [/b]
Hard times ahead
As the hard times continue across the world and begin to take hold here in Jamaica, I was out in the plazas the other day, saw a little 'hotness' riding shotgun in her man's expensive convertible, looking like she owned the thing.
She was so comfortable, all snug in the passenger seat, looking like she could stay there forever. I couldn't help but wonder if she realised that she was only a moment away from being told to hit the road, a smidgen away from being back on her feet again.
Even as she looked intently at her well-manicured fingernails, wondering if she needed to make an appointment to have them touched up, I don't think it was dawning on her that these hard times are affecting both the rich and the poor. Frankly, I don't even suspect that she knows that there is a worldwide recession on. The way she looked in that car, she may as well have been in paradise.
You ever wonder how many women out there live their lives hanging by a thread and not even realising it? Life is good. They have at their disposal the very latest phones, fashions and fine jewellery, and all they have to, do is look pretty and be generous with their charms and other assets.
Maintenance
They get up every day with the only thoughts consuming their minds being what new boundary they can push with regard to the skimpy clothing they already wear, getting a new outfit for the club later, and whether or not they need to pay a visit to the hairdresser to make sure the weave is not in need of maintenance.
The way I see it, as the economic crunch starts to take hold in Jamaica, people with legitimate jobs should not be the only ones worrying about their future. For a lot of men, high-maintenance women are going to become too costly an expense. Whether it is a publicity stunt or not, porn publisher Larry Flynt is calling on the US government for a bailout, and he has a lot of real money, not the monopoly money that these days we call the Jamaican dollar.
Start to cut back
Clubs and restaurants and hotels, especially those of a more clandestine nature, are going to see a significant downturn in business because many men will start to realise the high price they have been paying for casual sex and start to cut back. That means a lot of women are going to have to find alternative sources of revenue.
It's either that or a change of strategy in how to keep your money man. Can you imagine how easy some men are going to have it now? All the arguments the boyfriends used to hear will generally go away because nobody wants to harass the wallet that feeds them, or agitate the outstretched palms laden with goodies.
Gravy train
No, this will be a time for bending backwards, forwards and whatever way necessary to keep the gravy train rolling, especially if they're the other woman.
On the other side, I know there are a lot of men who are going to use this economic situation to bail out of some of these situations they find themselves in. It's like how some men conveniently disappear or pick a fight with their women friends near Christmas, birthdays and Valentine's Day. For them, it's all about keeping those costs down.
With what is looming on the horizon threatening to make even the wealthiest cry, I suspect that we are going to see a lot of fights and grudges being carried a lot longer than usual.
In a year or two maybe things will return to some level of sanity, but for now many men are going to start looking for love at more bargain basement prices.
<span style="font-weight: bold">"For a lot of men, high-maintenance women are going to become too costly an expense."</span>