No man is an island
Jackass seh de worl' no level. Jackass seh dem sey no man is an islan' an a true, but nuff time it woulda really betta if man an man coulda jus jam off an do dem owna ting.
Whoever coined the phrase 'no man is an island' understood that as humans we are all dependent on each other. Dennis Brown sang a song using the phrase and we who love reggae nod as we sing along that "no man stands alone".
But there are times when Jackass wishes that he could stand alone. <span style="font-weight: bold">Because instead of being a summary of the fact that we all share this wonderful planet and this exquisite Jamaica, sometimes 'no man is an island' means that you cannot avoid some real walking john crows in this world.</span>
Yeah man. The world is not level at all. Check it. You obey all the traffic laws. You make sure your vehicle is in good condition. Drink and drive? Not even water, much less alcohol.
Speeding and overloaded
And what happens? You are using the road with everybody else (because no man is an island, right?) and here comes a smaddy, a sittin, driving a car with the tyres going one way and the body the next, him stink of rum and the car with the steering looser than (you, dear reader, are free to fill in the blank with an appropriate name from your personal experience), speeding and overloaded. He runs smack into your car, mashing it and you up.
No man is an island, right? We all have to use the road, right? No sah not with dem deh suppen! But the world isn't level at all.
That is not the only way that this business of having to use the roads with certain cretins is not level. You don't play certain music in your house around your children, because it is adult oriented.
But you pull up at a stoplight and what pulls up beside you? A john crow behind a steering wheel who never believed that he would be driving a car one day. He is playing a very loud sound system at its maximum value, pumping out the worst sexual excesses ever recorded, with the selector screaming obscenities like the ones on the recording are not enough.
Bath soap
He pulls up beside you in the car, looks across at you with your children in your car and checks if he is getting a reaction. Why, Jackass asks, should you have to share the road with someone like that? Because no man is an island? Well some man should be on an island all by themselves and you just ship over some food and one bath soap every month.
Not even toothpaste because their damn mouths are so nasty no amount of Colgate can help them.
It goes on. You grow up your children to be decent, here comes a pickney of a walking pair of john crows (a john crow and a jane crow maybe) who has been grown up to believe that curse words are just another cute expression. And they end up in the same class as your kid. And somebody wants to tell Jackass that the world is level?
Jackass seh de worl' no level. Jackass seh im wish im coulda be a continent by imself wid no tief, no chile molester, no politician, no Gaza, no Gully, no nutten.
Jackass seh de worl' no level. Jackass seh dem sey no man is an islan' an a true, but nuff time it woulda really betta if man an man coulda jus jam off an do dem owna ting.
Whoever coined the phrase 'no man is an island' understood that as humans we are all dependent on each other. Dennis Brown sang a song using the phrase and we who love reggae nod as we sing along that "no man stands alone".
But there are times when Jackass wishes that he could stand alone. <span style="font-weight: bold">Because instead of being a summary of the fact that we all share this wonderful planet and this exquisite Jamaica, sometimes 'no man is an island' means that you cannot avoid some real walking john crows in this world.</span>

Yeah man. The world is not level at all. Check it. You obey all the traffic laws. You make sure your vehicle is in good condition. Drink and drive? Not even water, much less alcohol.
Speeding and overloaded
And what happens? You are using the road with everybody else (because no man is an island, right?) and here comes a smaddy, a sittin, driving a car with the tyres going one way and the body the next, him stink of rum and the car with the steering looser than (you, dear reader, are free to fill in the blank with an appropriate name from your personal experience), speeding and overloaded. He runs smack into your car, mashing it and you up.
No man is an island, right? We all have to use the road, right? No sah not with dem deh suppen! But the world isn't level at all.
That is not the only way that this business of having to use the roads with certain cretins is not level. You don't play certain music in your house around your children, because it is adult oriented.
But you pull up at a stoplight and what pulls up beside you? A john crow behind a steering wheel who never believed that he would be driving a car one day. He is playing a very loud sound system at its maximum value, pumping out the worst sexual excesses ever recorded, with the selector screaming obscenities like the ones on the recording are not enough.
Bath soap
He pulls up beside you in the car, looks across at you with your children in your car and checks if he is getting a reaction. Why, Jackass asks, should you have to share the road with someone like that? Because no man is an island? Well some man should be on an island all by themselves and you just ship over some food and one bath soap every month.
Not even toothpaste because their damn mouths are so nasty no amount of Colgate can help them.
It goes on. You grow up your children to be decent, here comes a pickney of a walking pair of john crows (a john crow and a jane crow maybe) who has been grown up to believe that curse words are just another cute expression. And they end up in the same class as your kid. And somebody wants to tell Jackass that the world is level?
Jackass seh de worl' no level. Jackass seh im wish im coulda be a continent by imself wid no tief, no chile molester, no politician, no Gaza, no Gully, no nutten.