I finish it same way. I give it the benefit of doubt and finish it. It got more lively towards the end but still not something I going read again.
Definately not worth $1050 I pay fi it! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img]
a no Prime Minista mi a tawk bout..years ago mi seh pon yah dat book was fawt...u muss read mi book review post dem [img]/forums/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]...mi a tawk bout di Robinson book...u eva read it...
beansie - just trying to eliminate the gaps! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img] mi haffi get di two January book dem from library to, mi aggo do dat dis weekend and get started.
maybe we should start looking ahead to February's selections... [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
i'd like to do something completely different - like, Why French Women Don't Get Fat, or a collecton of poetry or summat....
what say oonu?
dat french one sound familiar [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
yeah - mi hear di author pon radio lass week promoting her followup book, and remember mi did always waan fi read di first one. it talks about the cultural issues that make French women stay thin (and, I guess by contrast, the issues that make American women portly). i wanted to see if there were any indications in there that pertained to black women/jamaican women...
but den mi read a rebuttal on slate that kinna mek mi loose off di book. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70361-embarassed.gif[/img]
any suggestions? maybe a romantic theme, for Valentine's? Or maybe a historical theme, for Black history month? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70459-idea.gif[/img]
No Harlequin novels, do mi a beg yuh! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img]
But mi enjoy histry. We can do sintin like dat.
And no MTG< mi nuh read di Robinson book before.
Mi hope seh unu well progressing on Small Island! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70384-praying.gif[/img]
I deding here reading bout Hortense a bawl out "is so di English ppl stay?" And Gilberts trying to explain to idiot Mercan ppl dem bout di British Emipire. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
dont know if yu all done gone through any as me seldom come done here(only fe a sparse selection of literature).
read this one a few years a back but me na remember a thing in it. just that some plots were confusing [img]/forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
any readers in the club? mg wa yu say? wa bout one a dem ya fe february? [img]/forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]
Mi hope seh unu well progressing on Small Island! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70384-praying.gif[/img]
I deding here reading bout Hortense a bawl out "is so di English ppl stay?" And Gilberts trying to explain to idiot Mercan ppl dem bout di British Emipire. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/704555_dwl.gif[/img]
mi get the notice today from the library seh mi book come.....me meking sure fi put it up tomorrow...
for next year...think on these ...all by Peter Abrahams
The View from Coyoba [Historical Fiction, 1985]
This Island Now [Novel, 1966]
A Wreath for Udomo [Novel, 1956]
Tell Freedom [Autobiography, 1954]
Wild Conquest [Novel, 1950]
Mine Boy [Novel, 1946]
Song of the City [Novel, 1945]
I've read the first 3...Not the last 3 can never find wild conquest... Dont dare go for a Wreath for Udomo.. who could take the betrayal and the fact it was prophetic.. The betryal...
How about discussing a great new modern classic "Mao" up there with the Gulag Archeipelago... or anotehr by one of the authours Wild Swans...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.