About a family who lost most of it's members in the Kendal train crash, written from a point of view of the grand daughter. It's a little moving at times, but a good read.
Beresford McLean. <u>Broken Gourds</u>.
A very pleasant read about the trials and tribulations of a small Jamaican village. The main character is transformed from a retarded kid with no hope, to the people's beloved leader.
Just finished this one. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crybaby.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/crybaby.gif[/img]
The Wake of the Wind, J. California Cooper's third novel, is her most penetrating look yet at the challenges that generations of African Americans have had to overcome in order to carve out a home for themselves and their families. Set in Texas in the waning years of the Civil War, the novel tells the dramatic story of a remarkable heroine, Lifee, and her husband, Mor. When Emancipation finally comes to Texas, Mor, Lifee, and the extended family they create from other slaves who are also looking for a home and a future, set out in search of a piece of land they can call their own. In the face of constant threats, they manage not only to survive but to succeed--their crops grow, their children thrive, they educate themselves and others. Lifee and Mor pass their intelligence, determination, and talents along to their children, the next generation to surge forward. At once tragic and triumphant, this is an epic story that captures with extraordinary authenticity the most important struggle of the last hundred years.
I loved all of her books, this one was recommended by Seemiyah! [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
When Love Calls, You Better Answer (Paperback) Just finished that one by Bertice Berry. Good book [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
When Love Calls, You Better Answer
This book is very thought provoking. I was intrigued with suggestion that the spirits our ancestors are partly responsible for putting us on the right path and are part of our decision making. Overall, it was an enjoyable read.
Just finished her other book too [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/bannana_purple.gif[/img]
Jim and Louella's Homemade Heart-fix Remedy (Paperback)
Jim and Louella's Homemade Heart-Fix Remedy: A Novel is a delightful, anecdotic little book that is a welcomed break from the drama-filled fiction of late. The central characters, Jim and Louella, are a middle-aged, devoted Christian couple that discover a "gift of hearing" while rekindling their love life (which is rather steamy for an older couple). Jim and Louella, believing that all gifts from God should be shared, begin offering advice to their friends and neighbors on matters of the heart. Rumors of the "love couple" travel fast and their home is quickly overrun by the lovesick townsfolk in search of counsel. Much to their surprise they find some very lonely, neglected, and abused souls in their midst and quickly learn that despite their best intentions the outcome is not always what is expected.
Magic is ordah, you ordah daht book or is local you buy it?
As fah mi...
I am forcing myself to finish dis eediat (Passing Through) book by Colin Channer [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img]
is one of his worst, fi real.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Magic</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Broken Gourds mi buy fi $860 at Bookland in New Kgn.
Reaper of Souls was $1500 at Sangster's by Soveriegn.
Mi nuh know if dem can arda.
Passing Thru, what dat bout? I read id by cyaan memba if mi like it. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img] </div></div>
wonda why magic nuh offer fi send me his copies [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/whatever.gif[/img]
Passing Through is the collection of interwieved short stories that takes place all over the carribean and different time periods. Just horrible mi seh [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70394-bawlout.gif[/img]
I'm reading a sequel, [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/rolleyes.gif[/img] the first book was nice but this one is a bit boring. Some things should just be left alone, next time she writes something I'll have to think twice about buying it. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/mad2.gif[/img]
I'm reading for 3 weeks now a book called "The Lost" by Daniel Mendelsohn. The story is about an American of Polish Jew ancestry on a quest to find out what happened to his grandfather's brother and family during the WW2. It's a tedious read and has been putting me to sleep on the metro.
Someone recommend a book that would hold my interest nuh? Fiction or non-ficition.
Lisey's Story (Stephen King) - not a recommendation (unless you love the author)
I'm on the 2nd week at a new job, so cannot afford to waste any brain power on a serious book [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img]
I'm friends with Bev East, and she just sent out a notice that Reaper of Souls, her novel about the Kendal train crash, is available on Amazon.
When I went to Amazon, it said it was temporarily out of stock, but she says that's not true, and they're trying to get that notice taken down. If you order it, they will send it...
She also likes to hear from readers and talk about the book, and said it was ok for me to post her email address (hope this doesn't violate any rules?)[email protected] keeps hearing from family of people who were on the train, as well as readers...
I won't have time to read it til summer [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/frown.gif[/img] but hope others have a chance before then!
The fire down in my soul - JD Mason
Re-reading 6 days in January by William Cooper (a coworker and a personal friend of mine) sigh [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/inlove1.gif[/img]
Perhaps we should read Reaper of the Souls for the next discussion, and invite Miss East for the Q&A. [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70402-thinking.gif[/img]
I like Stephen King books but I can't deal with a horror story right yah now. I want something soothing and seductive.... like some of Walter Mosley books.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: chitown</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Lisey's Story (Stephen King) - not a recommendation (unless you love the author)
I'm on the 2nd week at a new job, so cannot afford to waste any brain power on a serious book [img]/forums/images/%%GRAEMLIN_URL%%/70374-lipsrsealed.gif[/img] </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.