Originally posted by CeaBee
What you reading now?
JK Rowling has secretly written a crime novel under the guise of male debut writer Robert Galbraith.
The Harry Potter author was acclaimed for The Cuckoo's Calling, about a war veteran turned private investigator called Cormoran Strike.
A brilliant debut mystery in a classic vein: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel's suicide.
After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.
Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, thelegendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.
You may think you know detectives, but you've never met one quite like Strike. You may think you know about the wealthy and famous, but you've never seen them under an investigation like this.
Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is the acclaimed first crime novel by J.K. Rowling, writing under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.
has anyone read the above? her latest in this budding series is now out…got it at Costco….
The Silkworm (Cormoran Strike #2)
by Robert Galbraith (Pseudonym), J.K. Rowling
4.17 of 5 stars 4.17 · rating details · 2,551 ratings · 514 reviews
Private investigator Cormoran Strike returns in a new mystery from Robert Galbraith, author of the #1 international bestseller The Cuckoo's Calling. When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks her husband has gone off by himself for a few days--as he has done before--and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home. But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine's disappearance than his wife realizes. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives--meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced. When Quine is found brutally murdered under bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any Strike has encountered before... A compulsively readable crime novel with twists at every turn, THE SILKWORM is the second in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and his determined young assistant, Robin Ellacott.(less)
"That skinny Indian teenager has that mysterious something that comes along once a generation. He is one of those rare chefs who is simply born. He is an artist."
And so begins the rise of Hassan Haji, the unlikely gourmand who recounts his life’s journey in Richard Morais’s charming novel, The Hundred-Foot Journey. Lively and brimming with the colors, flavors, and scents of the kitchen, The Hundred-Foot Journey is a succulent treat about family, nationality, and the mysteries of good taste.
Born above his grandfather’s modest restaurant in Mumbai, Hassan first experienced life through intoxicating whiffs of spicy fish curry, trips to the local markets, and gourmet outings with his mother. But when tragedy pushes the family out of India, they console themselves by eating their way around the world, eventually settling in Lumière, a small village in the French Alps.
The boisterous Haji family takes Lumière by storm. They open an inexpensive Indian restaurant opposite an esteemed French relais—that of the famous chef Madame Mallory—and infuse the sleepy town with the spices of India, transforming the lives of its eccentric villagers and infuriating their celebrated neighbor. Only after Madame Mallory wages culinary war with the immigrant family, does she finally agree to mentor young Hassan, leading him to Paris, the launch of his own restaurant, and a slew of new adventures.
The Hundred-Foot Journey is about how the hundred-foot distance between a new Indian kitchen and a traditional French one can represent the gulf between different cultures and desires. A testament to the inevitability of destiny, this is a fable for the ages—charming, endearing, and compulsively readable.
Been bypassing the above paperback for weeks in Costco...then read that Speilberg n Oprah had made it into a movie...as I admire Steven's taste I finally gave in... Love it...plus the actor playing the role of the father( well I believe that is the role he has), I loved him in this other movie where he played a Pakistani in Britain, taking home his youngest son to try n stop his going non-Asian, like his older siblings...
must have missed this book given my distaste for her behaviour re the husband…but found it today in Superstore …anybody else read it? will be awhile until i get to it as I am reading Wahalla's brother's tome next…
Family ties are tested and transformed in the new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author of Waiting to Exhale and How Stella Got Her Groove Back
With her wise, wry, and poignant novels of families and friendships—Waiting to Exhale, Getting to Happy, and A Day Late and a Dollar Short among them—Terry McMillan has touched millions of readers. Now, in her eighth novel, McMillan gives exuberant voice to characters who reveal how we live now—at least as lived in a racially diverse Los Angeles neighborhood.
Kaleidoscopic, fast-paced, and filled with McMillan’s inimitable humor, Who Asked You? opens as Trinetta leaves her two young sons with her mother, Betty Jean, and promptly disappears. BJ, a trademark McMillan heroine, already has her hands full dealing with her other adult children, two opinionated sisters, an ill husband, and her own postponed dreams—all while holding down a job delivering room service at a hotel. Her son Dexter is about to be paroled from prison; Quentin, the family success, can’t be bothered to lend a hand; and taking care of two lively grandsons is the last thing BJ thinks she needs. The drama unfolds through the perspectives of a rotating cast of characters, pitch-perfect, each playing a part, and full of surprises.
Who Asked You? casts an intimate look at the burdens and blessings of family and speaks to trusting your own judgment even when others don’t agree. McMillan’s signature voice and unforgettable characters bring universal issues to brilliant, vivid life.
Just started this book and am really liking it
A New York Times Bestseller, a #1 Indie Next Pick, and a #1 LibraryReads Selection
“This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love--love of books and bookish people and, really, all of humanity in its imperfect glory.” —Eowyn Ivey, author of The Snow Child
A. J. Fikry, the irascible owner of Island Books, has recently endured some tough years: his wife has died, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and his prized possession--a rare edition of Poe poems--has been stolen. Over time, he has given up on people, and even the books in his store, instead of offering solace, are yet another reminder of a world that is changing too rapidly. Until a most unexpected occurrence gives him the chance to make his life over and see things anew.
(I notice now that it's a kindle unlimited book. I borrowed it from the library though)
girlKia and I are reading To Kill a Mockingbird. We each read a chapter out loud. I get to explain life in the 1930s and why people behaved that way, she gets to admire Scout's spunkiness and how the author is clearly showing the injustices of the timeIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
I am reading Brilliance by Marcus Sakey on kindle....
An alternative world where there is a mutation that sets people with exceptional skills whcicj first appeared in 1980. The protagonist is a Brilliant as they are called who can read body language...so can antipate what u are thinking and what you are goinf to do. Tehre si a agency sent out to control, and the brilliants have set up a large area of Wyoming as a corporate nation..... The unusual thing is that the authour references Malcolm X a copuple times in context... in this world there was no 9/11... Dukakis beat Bush Jnr and alot of cancers have been cured...
I am also reading Brevoors World War II... that is the serious book... took me years to get to read it. I am about a third way through.. It is always a pleasure for me to spot a mistake in a histroical book and i did in this one. To follow up i went to the Imperial War Museum in London this weekend..For my next serious book A week ago i went with my daughter to a book store and i picked up Jung Chang Empress Dowager Cixi...
Jung Chang is the only female auhour that i read the female equavalent of Brevoor!!!!... she has only before this one written two books...and seems to do one book every 10 years!!!!!. so to my chagrin and delight i spotted this book at "Waterstones". My daughter convinced me to buy then and there rather than go home and get it online!!!!
My chagrin came from i did not know she had published anotehr book....
For the next novel on kindle it will be Turtledove Last orders... an alternative history on WWII fifth book in his series http://www.amazon.com/Last-Orders-Th...rry+turtledove
One of the pictures i took at the imperial war museum was that of the infamous Munich Agreement with the signitures of Hitler and chamberlin... now if i could post it i would stick here as it is appropriate!!!!
Vanny - I went to a Terry McMillan reading last year where she was promoting that book and she read excerpts from it, I didn't buy it though, I'll have to go look to adding it to my list.
CB - that sound like a good bookclub pick, I will add it to my goodreads so I don't forget about it. I also like that it is not a lot of pages because lately dem bookclub people not picking anything less than 400+ pages, chuuups....
Kia - I love to Kill a Mockingbird, I routinely reread it.
Wahalla - your book dem usually deeper than what I read, but these two sound up my ally so I am going to add them to the list too.
What am I currently reading?
Cat's Eye by Margaret Atwood
Cat's Eye is the story of Elaine Risley, a controversial painter who returns to Toronto, the city of her youth, for a retrospective of her art. Engulfed by vivid images of the past, she reminisces about a trio of girls who initiated her into the fierce politics of childhood and its secret world of friendship, longing, and betrayal. Elaine must come to terms with her own identity as a daughter, a lover, an artist, and a woman--but above all she must seek release from her haunting memories. Disturbing, hilarious, and compassionate, Cat's Eye is a breathtaking novel of a woman grappling with the tangled knot of her life.
The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison (listening to the audio book)
Jodi and Todd are at a bad place in their marriage. Much is at stake, including the affluent life they lead in their beautiful waterfront condo in Chicago, as she, the killer, and he, the victim, rush haplessly toward the main event. He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose. Told in alternating voices, The Silent Wife is about a marriage in the throes of dissolution, a couple headed for catastrophe, concessions that can’t be made, and promises that won’t be kept. Expertly plotted and reminiscent of Gone Girl and These Things Hidden, The Silent Wife ensnares the reader from page one and does not let go.
I was hoping it wouldn't be as heavy as some other books on the subject. anyway it not at my library on kindle so I guess i won't be reading it till them get it.
Originally posted by CeaBee View Post
This one sounds interesting Gen. But I struggle with reading books that are about slavery that are too graphic. (not that i know if this one is...also the usual thing the price. If I purchased all the $10 books that caught my eye i would go broke pretty soon). Will check to see if library has it. Thanks
I actually read the sample on amazon of this book. He is next on my list of Jamaican authors to read.
Originally posted by evanovitch View PostThanks Wahalla....looked up that nor just now...don't know if this one I am going to mention has already been suggested but I will post it still....Seveen recommended it to me n I thoroughly enjoyed it...some stories had me analyzing dem , they were so thought provoking....
KINGSTON. NOIR. (Edited by Colin Channer)
"Kingston Noir subverts the simplistic sunshine/reggae/spliff-smoking image of Jamaica at almost every turn...The collection amply rewards the reader with a rich interplay of geographies and themes."
--The Los Angeles Times
"Kingston Noir goes darker and deeper than any before...the purest of noir, and the richest depictions of Jamaica."
downloaded last night
John Crow's Devil by Marlon James
Set in James's native Jamaica, this dynamic, vernacular debut sings of the fierce battle between two flawed preachers. In 1957, the village of Gibbeah is a dusty remnant of the plantation era, halfheartedly ministered to by drunken Pastor Hector Bligh, aka the Rum Preacher. On a day beginning with a bad omen—black vultures, locally called John Crows, crash through the church windows—a man calling himself Apostle York "set[s] pon Pastor Bligh like when you beat a mangy dog" and takes over his church.
Bligh takes refuge in the home of another village outcast, while York's commanding presence whips Gibbeah into a frenzy of repentance. Lucinda, long reviled as the town slut, sets her sights on salvation and the Apostle, while Clarence, with whom she had a dalliance, becomes one of "The Five," a group of young men eager to enforce York's decrees against sin. It isn't long before group cohesion becomes mob mentality, and punishments grow increasingly brutal and public. Bligh returns to the fray, and the resulting confrontations set the village on a path to destruction. With gruesome and sometimes gratuitous descriptions of sex and gore, this isn't a tale for the faint of heart, but those eager for fire-and-brimstone lyricism will find this an exciting read
Reading The Last Anniversary by Liane Moriarity. CB recommend her book, The Husband's Secret, which was a good read.
Also reading Home By Another Way by Barbara Brown Taylor, an episcopal priest. Really enjoying this book which is a compilation of some of her sermons. So the short chapters are good meditation material. Girl can preachLast edited by Peasie; 07-29-2014, 04:34 PM.