Re: In Heaven or Hell? (Judas)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Silent- do you believe that, as according to the Gospel of Luke? and John? that Satan entered Judas...</div></div>
Actually I do-in a sense- not as in 'possessed' as in one that is incapable of free will and is being overtaken by a spiritual force. If I recall correctly, the writer's original meaning of 'Satan entered Judas' does not indicate a 'demonic possession'. It signifies that it is at this point Judas' mind was made up, he made a decision not only in his mind, but his heart as well, and he finally yielded to the temptation of betrayal. in the story, apparently, Satan was glad he did because now his plan can go forth, knowing he has the full cooperation of Judas' will and heart.
<span style="font-style: italic">If I have the time I will check the references for clarity and post..</span> </div></div>
But surely you are all missing the point,it`s widely accepted,and promoted by christians,that "god" gave his only son,etc,that would indicate that ALL events leading up to and including jesus`s death was manipulated by "god"..so how come "satan" is being implicated in this crime.
Why would "god" work through "satan",is it not possible for "god" to do anything slightly underhand and manipulative without using "satan",...or is the implication of "satan" in all things bad an indication that he is simply a myth,someone made up to be the bad guy to "god`s good guy persona.
Good questions Natral, and what you are pointing out is what we were discussing in an earlier post--deterministic veiwpoint-but i am also taking into account our premise on our belief in who god is, in this Judas story.
IF the belief that god is a 'manipulator', then as i said before, heaven must be Judas' destination-absolute certainty-because Judas is not responsible but was the 'pawn' in this 'play'.
If God is seen as 'a good god who shows mercy and grace', we can say that Judas can be in heaven.
The 'heaven' destinations are the same for both arguments- but the arguments can flow differently based on the premise of our belief in who god is.
As also stated before: 'I don't know' is the option considered for his destination. If I was to say where he would be with certainty, it would be heaven--but not based on the argument that god is evil and so forth..
see wha mi mean?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Natral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Silent_River</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Silent- do you believe that, as according to the Gospel of Luke? and John? that Satan entered Judas...</div></div>
Actually I do-in a sense- not as in 'possessed' as in one that is incapable of free will and is being overtaken by a spiritual force. If I recall correctly, the writer's original meaning of 'Satan entered Judas' does not indicate a 'demonic possession'. It signifies that it is at this point Judas' mind was made up, he made a decision not only in his mind, but his heart as well, and he finally yielded to the temptation of betrayal. in the story, apparently, Satan was glad he did because now his plan can go forth, knowing he has the full cooperation of Judas' will and heart.
<span style="font-style: italic">If I have the time I will check the references for clarity and post..</span> </div></div>
But surely you are all missing the point,it`s widely accepted,and promoted by christians,that "god" gave his only son,etc,that would indicate that ALL events leading up to and including jesus`s death was manipulated by "god"..so how come "satan" is being implicated in this crime.
Why would "god" work through "satan",is it not possible for "god" to do anything slightly underhand and manipulative without using "satan",...or is the implication of "satan" in all things bad an indication that he is simply a myth,someone made up to be the bad guy to "god`s good guy persona.
Good questions Natral, and what you are pointing out is what we were discussing in an earlier post--deterministic veiwpoint-but i am also taking into account our premise on our belief in who god is, in this Judas story.
IF the belief that god is a 'manipulator', then as i said before, heaven must be Judas' destination-absolute certainty-because Judas is not responsible but was the 'pawn' in this 'play'.
If God is seen as 'a good god who shows mercy and grace', we can say that Judas can be in heaven.
The 'heaven' destinations are the same for both arguments- but the arguments can flow differently based on the premise of our belief in who god is.
As also stated before: 'I don't know' is the option considered for his destination. If I was to say where he would be with certainty, it would be heaven--but not based on the argument that god is evil and so forth..
see wha mi mean?