I don't know of any. I believe some "prophecies" were written AFTER the fact (the book of Daniel) and others were just wild guesses based on observed events at the current moment (Ezekiel observing Nebuchadnezzar's advances though the Levant and thinking Egypt would also be crushed which NEVER happened).
From Marvelous Mutty:
"Sell the Vatican, feed the world"
(the following from a writing on Lenny Bruce, a comedian famous for his many obscenity arrests)
"My favorite Lenny Bruce number began with Christ and Moses returning to earth. They were standing in the back of imposing St. Patrick's Cathedral on Fifth Avenue in New York, watching then Cardinal Francis Spellman—a fierce foe of "obscenity" and the lead strikebreaker in an action by cemetery workers at a Catholic cemetery. The Cardinal dug the first spadeful for a new grave.
Christ says to Moses, "My visit took me to Spanish Harlem where there were forty Puerto Ricans living in one room. What were they doing there when this man"—Lenny pointed to the Cardinal—"has a ring on worth $10,000?"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">From Marvelous Mutty:
"Sell the Vatican, feed the world"
(the following from a writing on Lenny Bruce, a comedian famous for his many obscenity arrests)
"My favorite Lenny Bruce number began with Christ and Moses returning to earth. They were standing in the back of imposing St. Patrick's Cathedral on Fifth Avenue in New York, watching then Cardinal Francis Spellman—a fierce foe of "obscenity" and the lead strikebreaker in an action by cemetery workers at a Catholic cemetery. The Cardinal dug the first spadeful for a new grave.
Christ says to Moses, "My visit took me to Spanish Harlem where there were forty Puerto Ricans living in one room. What were they doing there when this man"—Lenny pointed to the Cardinal—"has a ring on worth $10,000?"
Considering that the Old Testament was written by Jewish writers for Jews I have always found it interesting that some Christians seem to have so little regard for the Jewish interpretation of scripture in relation to who the Messiah would be and to the Old testament prophecies . I am surprised that Jews are not more hostile to Christians 'hijacking' their scriptures and telling them how wrong the Jewish interpretation of scriptures that originated within their own movement are.
The Jewish perspective on things. Not saying I agree or disagree but it is their perspective:
SmoothOperator,
Thanks for posting that link.
I just read through it and just now realized just how different the messiah story is in the two religions and how (apparently) the Christians have had to twist the Old Testament around to fit into the Jesus story.
The Judaic thought that God is one and not a trinity, that God would not lessen his deity by creating a mortal to be his son.
The Judaic writings say that the messiah, like the other prophets, will be born of mortal parents.
'
Significant differences of opinion.
I like the Jewish ideas on sex a lot better than those of the Church.
If you've read Anthony Winkler's "The Duppy", you'd have to think that Jamaican heaven would be quite similar to Jewish heaven and not at all like Christian heaven.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.