<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/w7BZvmsRknU"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/w7BZvmsRknU" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
How can you love and fear God?
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/w7BZvmsRknU"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/w7BZvmsRknU" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>Tags: None
Re: How can you love and fear God?
As the expression goes.... OMG!
This is quite an impressive case against God but perhaps wasted on those who have that illogical faith in such a monster.
I would not advise the religious people to watch or listen to this. It will not do you any good at all..
Most people of faith need that faith to carry them through life because of the very difficult things that life hands them and this video is quite a challenge to that faith in the God of the Bible.
But personally, thank you ChineseJamaican for posting it.
It is superb from this atheist's point of view.
man made 'god" in his own image,but this god has to be more all seeing all powerful, he has to wield a big stick if we are naughty,but we should also show undying love to him,do whatever he says,we know he's a bastard when he gets drunk and threaten us,but when he's sober he's a really nice person.
Natral,
A French philosopher said that God created man in his image and man has more than reciprocated.
Of course it make no difference to believers that their omniscient, omnipotent God is chock full of man's imperfections; jealousy, anger, whimsy, cruelty, murderous intent such as no omniscient being would be.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Natral,
A French philosopher said that God created man in his image and <span style="font-weight: bold">man has more than reciprocated.</span>
Of course it make no difference to believers that their omniscient, omnipotent God is chock full of man's imperfections; jealousy, anger, whimsy, cruelty, murderous intent such as no omniscient being would be. </div></div>
an wat r the unsavoury parts of ur own make up that u hint at ...not to mention how u have reciprocated....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: johnnycakes</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Natral,
A French philosopher said that God created man in his image and <span style="font-weight: bold">man has more than reciprocated.</span>
Of course it make no difference to believers that their omniscient, omnipotent God is chock full of man's imperfections; jealousy, anger, whimsy, cruelty, murderous intent such as no omniscient being would be. </div></div>
an wat r the unsavoury parts of ur own make up that u hint at ...not to mention how u have reciprocated....</div></div>
Evanovitch,
What the philosopher meant was that in the man-written Judeo-Christian religious texts, God was given some of those worst attributes of man; jealousy, anger, murderous intent. God created man in his IMAGE could mean that humans only resemble their (supposed) creator but humans are certainly not the omniscient or omnipotent being that they imagine God to be.
So, in that sense we humans have more than reciprocated what God had done because we assigned some of our lesser and more base emotions to God whereas God did not make us omniscient or omnipotent.
Well, at least not yet.
I would imagine that I have the normal load of the undesirable traits that man has assigned to God.
I would hope and I do expect that man's eventual evolution will have us developing into something very close to the superior being that God is supposed to be.
It could be that something innate in all of us is what inspired the writers of the Bible to envision God as what we are all fated to be in the far distant future of humanity.
I think that is so but that thought IS faith based.
man was made in the IMAGE of God...how is the word 'image' defined?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a physical likeness or representation of a person, animal, or thing, photographed, painted, sculptured, or otherwise made visible. </div></div>
the invisible , i.e. the inner making of man was shortcircuited with the Fall...so we have the outward image but not the inner until we accept the call of REDEMPTION
so all u seh is bunk
E:
"the invisible , i.e. the inner making of man was shortcircuited with the Fall...so we have the outward image but not the inner until we accept the call of REDEMPTION.
Evanovitch,
By "the Fall" I am assuming you mean the story of Adam and Eve's FALL from grace which is allegory; a story made up to understand deeper principles not easily understood by the common person.
That story, I believe, assigns original sin to all people born after that fictitious event which on its face makes no sense.
A newborn is full of sin because of Adam and Eve ate the apple of knowledge?
How can that possibly be the thinking of an all-knowing God?
You would need to be redeemed only if you committed a sin/crime.
I cannot imagine an omniscient being thinking that way and indeed it is men who wrote the Bible and the churches who then wrote the myriad and often senseless rules for the believers to follow.
But then, as said, many times before if there were fact to back up faith, you wouldn't need faith.
Unbaptized babies go to hell or purgatory?
Think about how cruel and illogical that is for an omniscient God to come up with.
You cannot treat the Bible as anything close to literal truth and Leviticus is proof of that.
oh please....a newborn has no facility for choice, judgement r behaviour....stop being obtuse....
dat is wat is wrong...peeps soo stuck on disproving wat dem seh dem dont believe dem fail to appreciate the life lessons that the Bible in its entirety tells...the Red Thread of Redemption
From Wikipedia:
Limbo of Infants
The Limbo of Infants (Latin limbus infantium or limbus puerorum) is a hypothesis about the permanent status of the unbaptized who die in infancy, too young to have committed personal sins, but not having been freed from original sin. Since at least the time of Augustine, theologians, considering baptism to be necessary for the salvation of those to whom it can be administered, have debated the fate of unbaptized innocents, and the theory of the Limbo of Infants is one of the hypotheses that have been formulated as a proposed solution. Some who hold this theory regard the Limbo of Infants as a state of maximum natural happiness, others as one of "mildest punishment" consisting at least of privation of the beatific vision and of any hope of obtaining it. This theory, in any of its forms, has never been dogmatically defined by the Church, but it is permissible to hold it. Recent Catholic theological speculation tends to stress the hope that these infants may attain heaven instead of the supposed state of Limbo.
While the Roman Catholic Church has a defined doctrine on original sin, it has none on the eternal fate of unbaptized infants, leaving theologians free to propose different theories, which Catholics are free to accept or reject.[8]
The fundamental importance, in Roman Catholic theology, of the sacrament of water baptism gives rise to the argument that, because original sin excludes from the beatific vision enjoyed by the souls in heaven, those who have not been freed from it either by the sacrament or by baptism of desire or baptism of blood are not eligible for entry into heaven.
[edit]Latin Fathers
This is called changing the rules in the middle of the game.
Not too dissimilar to the heads of the Mormon Church (LDS) deciding back in the 60's or 70's that colored people could become elders in that church after holding prayer meetings for guidance from God.
(Also after being racist was no longer tolerated by the general public).
No one follows Leviticus except for the anti-homosexual part and because the Bible was written by men 2000 years ago it is bound up with the outdated thinking of those times.
Much of the Bible is repetitious mumbo-jumbo that has no meaning nor relevance in today's world.
How long will it be until the heretofore women are allowed to become priests ?
How many of the rules and ideas laid down in the Bible are not followed today, not pertinent to reality.
How many Roman Catholic women do not use birth control and will burn in hell for that?
Most Christians are what has been termed "cafeteria Christians"; they go through the Bible and pick and choose what they will follow and what they will not follow.
It is what enables the rich Christians to not help the poor as Christ explicitly told them to do or go straight to Hell.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">that's a monty python god. kept waiting for him to open his mouth in that up and down monty python way and cuss off people for questioning him. which movie was that from? meaning of life? </div></div>
MGee,
i don't think I saw that one so probably you're right.
I did see "Life Of Brian" though.
"What did He say?
"Blessed are the cheesemakers."
so not only do u use Wikipedia as a sourceu cite doctrine from a denomination , the Roman Catholic church...a denomination that SOLD indulgences etc...the said one u decry fi the Inquisition but now u citing as a credible source on Christianity....
dat is really a credible source of bakative for ur stance......
NOT
it's from monty python and the holy grail. of course. i should have remembered.
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/jHsbwY4EPyA"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/jHsbwY4EPyA" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>