For example, ancient texts had many names for God: el Shaddai, Eloi, Eloim (plural) Emet, Hakadoth, etc. I can just see those translators scratching their head
I have heardpostulation that all the names in the old testament for god singinfies not different names for the same entity, but seperate entities. Ie different gods. That the proto Jews worshipped not one but multiple deities is the god of Abahm changed and was different from the god issiac worshipped which was different from the god Jacob worshipped. They were serial monothesist.
Still the gods were all killed by a branch floating on the sea on September 8 five hundred years or so ago.
The acquittal of George Zimmerman makes a non believer like me go why would God make a crazy *** cracker like that walk free?
Reminds me of the Great African American writer/poet James Baldwin who said
"If the concept of God has any use,It is to make us larger,freer,and more Loving.....If God can't do that it's time to get rid of him"
That/Your concept of God is flawed. It is not God's responsibility to make us "larger, freer, and more loving". At what point do humans take responsiblity for their actions, seeing they are free moral agents? If God "made us" anything other than free moral agents, we would not be able to exercise the power of choice.
aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
I think the free will argument is the lamest defense of why there is evil in the world. If I understand it correctly God wants us to be free and values freedom, but that freedom allows for the possibility that man can commit evil. But everything has constraints and parameters under which it operates - I can well imagine a world where humans are free but certain actions are outside of their grasp.
Further what happens in a hypothetical after life. Are humans there free or not free? If they are free then there is the possibility that an exalted human can commit evil just like a fallen angel and spoil paradise and we are back to square 1. If humans in paradise are not free then why didn't God just create a world like that that in the first place and save himself and us all this trouble.
That/Your concept of God is flawed. It is not God's responsibility to make us "larger, freer, and more loving". At what point do humans take responsiblity for their actions, seeing they are free moral agents? If God "made us" anything other than free moral agents, we would not be able to exercise the power of choice.
Mi hav enough trouble inna mi life, mi noh need fi pick noh fight wid God.
Same as picking a fight with yourself,how far dat gonna get yuh?
Actually now dat I think about it,it better yuh pick a fight with yourself at least you know you are real
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.