<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">cesar millan had a show about this. cyaan memba how him cure the dog, though. </div></div>
Yes - but he always says - do not give the commands with the dog's name
I always start out with the name because it gets their attention. Like right now, I only have to say the word <span style="font-weight: bold">Paris!</span>, and whatever she is doing she will stop dead in her tracks. Sometimes I follow it with what I want her to do, and sometimes I just let it go at her name because she has stopped doing something undesireable and that is good enough. Usually she will come running to me after that though, which is a good thing and I always praise her for that, and stopping what she was doing.
She will stop on a dime and give you change! When I don't follow it with a command she usually comes running to me and drops into a sit. This will come in handy if she ever gets loose in traffic.
There are times when I agree that you do not want to use a name. An example would be a sit stay. If you tell your dog to STAY, you would never want to use his name first! You would simply say SIT. Once they are sitting then STAY! (then I always Also use a hand signal for the STAY and eventually drop the word and just use the hand signal). The name might trigger an expectation of "going to be doing something" so they might get into an anticipation state of mind.
It all boils down to being consistent. Whatever a person chooses to do short of violence that will achieve a desired end result will work as long as it is the thing that is always done. And that is what you will notice with Cesar. Gawd I love that man. He will always be consistent when training. This isn't a thing where you can do training one day and be too busy to do it the next and let behavior slide. That sends a mixed up signal that sometimes it is OK to do something and sometimes not, so they will risk getting in trouble for a behavior that they have a sneaking suspicion is not wanted. Then you have a dog that will sneak around and do things. I have one of those and she came to me that way from the shelter. I have never totally been able to break her of it either so we have to have boot camp now and then.
The minute he started to jump on the sofa & bark I firmly stated <span style="font-weight: bold">'NO!</span> and he stopped what he was doing. I verbally praised him and he walked away
A few minutes later he attempted the same thing and I repeated the steps above.
sooo he knows he is not supposed to do this stuff but likes to test us?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ceabee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i think him just like doing it...but know him not supposed to.
but then remember i'm the dog shouter... so i know not what i speak </div></div>
BOAL @ ceabee
Yes it is more fun to bark at things outside the window
oohh mailman soon come so mi can train him again
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> THE POP CAN WID PENNIES WORKS
so far </div></div>
Tango will soon progress to 'stopping' the behaviour simply when you shake the can
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> THE POP CAN WID PENNIES WORKS
so far </div></div>
Tango will soon progress to 'stopping' the behaviour simply when you shake the can
</div></div> sistaD it's not tango my innocent perfect spoiled rotten terror it's his cousin Sandy the big dog
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">while unno at it please tell me how to get Sandy (the big dog) to stop barking at everyone weh come a di yaad or dat wi pass pan di street. I mean non stop barking.
We tried the "tell her it's okay and to stop now" </div></div>
I generally keep my couch protected with X-Mat's when I am not home or when I don't want any dogs on my couch. They might be so uncomfortable that Clancy wouldn't jump on the couch to get to the window!
The little prongs are a good deterrent and the mats are lightweight and easily stored aside when not in use.
Then there are the Scat mats! Now these I have not tried but it might be worth it to give it a whirl...
If I was desperate enough I might buy both and put the scat mat on the floor and the X Mats on the couch!
The yard behavior is correctable but would take a lot of work, such as in always being out there at the same time as the dog, having the dog on a lead and a training collar and sharp commands to make him stop. That should still happen but in addition you could always get a bark collar, or any number of assorted systems that they make these days. Some bark collars emit cintronella spray, which is a natural bug repellent but I don't know anyone who has tried it yet.
I happen to like the shocking bark collar as they have their place but need to used carefully. The collar needs to be moved on the neck from place to place a couple of times a day so it doesn't burn off hair even make a small wound.
Going out with him every time he goes out to personally stop him is the best of all though! Learn him that word NO! Good luck!
Here is a page of training devices for you too look at!
so Tango and the Pug engage in some very rough play. Even though I know they are just playing I can't stand to watch sometimes as I feel like my baby is going to get hurt.
along comes the pop can with pennies one shake of that bad boy and both dogs freeze it also helps keep the pug off the couch *sigh*
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.