Anyone here ever insulate dem owna attic???
Doing Your Own Attic?
Re: Doing Your Own Attic?
Yes - the R30 I referred to earlier.
We had a guy come out to give us an estimate for him to do it. I wouldn't even repeat the estimated figure.
It dawned on us - <span style="font-style: italic">"... why cant we do this ourselves?"
Did a bit of research online and it SEEMS like something we can do. Was just wondering if this was something anyone here has done. We all know - things aren't always what they seem!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">nah but I do know you need a mask and the r30 has to be installed a certain way (i think face up?) </div></div>
from what I understand it is not hard to do.. it is a matter that the r30 has fiberglass and you have to make sure it does not get on you
Here is a tutorialIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Thanks Kia.
Already got that one.
Got the Owings Corning one too.
Their all pretty decent.
Just wanted to see if anyone out there has actually 'done' it on their own.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">from what I understand it is not hard to do.. it is a matter that the r30 has fiberglass and you have to make sure it does not get on you
Here is a tutorial </div></div>
We did our attic. Doing the insulation was not hard. The most time consuming part was the sheet rock installation and prep work. Just wear all the recommended safety devices. Get one of the how to book with good pictorials at Lowe's or Home Depot.
Cutie -
Was yours blown in or bats?
Did you remove the old insulation or just go over it with the new?
The thing that's putting me off a bit is that, we got several estimates. Almost every one had a different way of doing it. Never mind the price.
Half wants bats, half of them want to do blow in.
Either way, we're going to skip the blow in and go with bats.
As for what's already up there ... can't really go by that.
The person who lived here b4 was bad on maintaining things. The attic wasn't ever properly insulalated to start with.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: cutiep</div><div class="ubbcode-body">We did our attic. Doing the insulation was not hard. The most time consuming part was the sheet rock installation and prep work. Just wear all the recommended safety devices. Get one of the how to book with good pictorials at Lowe's or Home Depot. </div></div>
It only make sense to do blown in if you ready have walls in place.
It is much easier to do the rolls.
They are already pre cut according to stud, and rafter placements.
It is important to remove existing insulation in the newly created pr existing floor area.
Since it improves on heating cost
Thanks for the thoughts.
It's been quite disheartening talking with all the people who've given us estimates. None of them are consistent or even remotely close to each other at all.
Anyway, we'll suss it out tomorrow after we sit down and go over everything.
Why don't you google quotes for finishing attic
here quote=Yuri_]Thanks for the thoughts.
It's been quite disheartening talking with all the people who've given us estimates. None of them are consistent or even remotely close to each other at all.
[/quote]
I have done that - of course.
If you'd read my original posts, you'd have seen that.
Our attic, however, is not <span style="font-style: italic">entirely</span> a simple cut and dry situation.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Why don't you google quotes for finishing attic
here quote=Yuri_]Thanks for the thoughts.
</div></div> [/quote]
Yes Gen - that's what my thought was too - it just seemed logical to me to throw out the old ratty insulation and just start anew.
But about half of the estimates we got said to leave the old - when I asked why - they say it's a plus to have the extra insulation there. Just seems dumb to me. We're going to tear out the old.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">from what i have observed, remove the old ones, dash dem weh.