folks who perpetuate this out of wedlock baby-having,
Re: folks who perpetuate this out of wedlock baby-having,
mi naw chrow wud...mi start a new thread spinoff from the hymen inspection one.
But I will say this on the topic. While I don't agree with Shandra's stance on the topic. I do feel that motherhood/fatherhood is something that should not be entered into lightly. it is a lifetime commitment and is something that should be planned.
If I ruled the world as soon as children hit puberty they would be on birthcontrol. boys and girls. Then when they reach 24 or 25 and can prove they have the maturity/responsibility to take care of a child then they would be allowed to procreate.
but I don't rule the world.
no birth control is 100% unless it is abstaining.
Yes I agree too many people enter parenthood by not being r eady for it. If I ruled the world a parenting course would be a requirement prior to conceptionIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
If I ruled the world as soon as children hit puberty they would be on birthcontrol. boys and girls. Then when they reach 24 or 25 and can prove they have the maturity/responsibility to take care of a child then they would be allowed to procreate.
Why 24/25??? And how would you determine 'maturity'?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: I_Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> If I ruled the world a parenting course would be a requirement prior to conception
Parenting courses are already on the curriculum of many secondary schools in N.A. Can't see where this is helping to curb the problem...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: I_Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> If I ruled the world a parenting course would be a requirement prior to conception
Parenting courses are already on the curriculum of many secondary schools in N.A. Can't see where this is helping to curb the problem... </div></div>
are the kids really paying attentionIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
No, they are not, generally speaking, because they are not equating sex with babies..just pseudo maturity and a good time.
Careless <span style="font-style: italic">coita</span>...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: I_Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nunya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: I_Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> If I ruled the world a parenting course would be a requirement prior to conception
Parenting courses are already on the curriculum of many secondary schools in N.A. Can't see where this is helping to curb the problem... </div></div>
are the kids really paying attention </div></div>
No they're not. So what would be the point of having a parenting course?
do like they did with that show that caused all that contravasy.
leff dem wid 2 baby under the age of 2, one infant & one toddler, and mek dem battah batath wid the baby dem and see seh dem cant even guh bathroom widout pickney pan dem ankle, and see if dem still want teen pregnancy after that.
supervised from afar of course
<span style="font-style: italic">mi was gwine add this earlier mek a add it now</span>
granted there are going to be some teens (much like the nutcase octuplets ooman) who are going to go through with the notion come hale or high wata, but a high percentage decide seh this was NOT fi dem.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> While I don't agree with Shandra's stance on the topic. I do feel that motherhood/fatherhood is something that should not be entered into lightly. it is a lifetime commitment and is something that should be planned.
...but...Tanya...what stance is that...<span style="font-style: italic">that I don't agree with the 85% out of wedlock birth rate in Jamaica ...and in the general low level of morality across the world,</span> generally speaking?
If so , what's wrong with that? and what good has come from the apparent race to entertainment/breeding under any circumstance?
I have been teaching for just about forty years in a variety of places...I see a variety of results of that behaviour.
Some get by, many don't.
out of wedlock...
this is such an antiquated phrase..
but it still has an air of arrogance to it....
I think morality is something that varies from person to person...
my parents had me before dem married...dem married after 36 years of "togetherness"
I come from a very christian family so that was considered immoral and for years my mother was the black sheep in her family.
Nonetheless she raised me well *I think*<span style="font-style: italic"> (even though I must add that I was having sex as a teenager but had sense enough not to get pregnant. After all she never tell mi not to have sex she just tell mi seh mi not birthing nuh pickney under fi her roof.)</span>and now mi grown an married and have mi pickney dem...
my morals dictate to me that ideally <span style="font-weight: bold">I</span> would have to be married before I have children
why? I guess growing up with unmarried parents in a time where it was not as socially acceptable as it is today kinda stuck with me...
not saying anyone who does otherwise is worse off than I am... but tomayto tomahtoe ...
I would have to say it is not the wedded or unwedded state that is the issue but moreso the fact that both parents, mother & father should be actively and involved with their child on a daily basis. When children come, it is not really about you anymore but more about them.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.