<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _____</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I remember I would constantly strain fi push jus fi see if di baby dem wudda decide fi come at my urging... no such luck </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: ILP_N_Belly</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _____</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I remember I would constantly strain fi push jus fi see if di baby dem wudda decide fi come at my urging... no such luck </div></div>
you mean it nu work
shoot i even tried nipple stimulation...orgasms...anything to get a contraction....nada
lucky for me I had to be induced twice so mi neva haffi suffer fi di full 10 months..yeah I said 10...
Signs that labor is not far off include the following:
* The fetus settles into your pelvis. Although this is called dropping, or lightening, you may not feel it.
* Your cervix begins to thin and open (cervical effacement and dilatation). Your health professional checks for this during your prenatal exams.
* Braxton Hicks contractions become more frequent and stronger, perhaps a little painful. You may also feel cramping in the groin or rectum or a persistent ache low in your back.
* Your "water" may break (rupture of the membranes). In most cases, rupture of the membranes occurs after labor has already started. In some women, this happens before labor starts. Call your health professional immediately or go to the hospital if you think your membranes have ruptured.
Cervical Effacement and Dilatation - What are effacement and dilatation?
As labor nears, the cervix begins to thin or stretch (efface) and open (dilate) to prepare for the passage of the baby through the birth canal (vagina). How fast the cervix thins and opens varies from woman to woman. In some women, the cervix may efface and dilate slowly over a period of weeks. A first-time mother often will not dilate until active labor begins.
Late in your pregnancy, your health professional may manually check (wearing sterile gloves) how much your cervix has effaced and dilated.
Effacement
As the baby's head drops down into the pelvis, it pushes against the cervix and causes the cervix to relax and thin out, or efface.
Throughout your pregnancy, your cervix has been closed and protected by a plug of mucus. When the cervix effaces, the mucus plug is loosened and passes out of the vagina. The mucus may be tinged with blood. This passage of the mucus plug is called "show" or "bloody show." You may or may not notice when the mucus plug passes.
Effacement is described as a percentage. For example, if your cervix is not effaced at all, it is 0% effaced. If the cervix has completely thinned, it is 100% effaced.
Dilatation
After the cervix begins to efface, it will also begin to open (cervical dilatation).
Cervical dilatation is expressed in centimeters from 0 to 10. Zero means that the cervix is closed, and 10 means that it is completely dilated.
I was given a shower yesterday.
I must admit that di current mr ilp's sister did an amazing job.
I was blown away with the amount of people that came and things that the baby got.
Plus di gift cards
New things (for me):
di current mr ilp was asked to come to the shower at the gift opening part and open gifts with me. Never seen that done (cah mi from di school weh man nu involve in shower), but it was nice.
the string game....
home made gift catalogue. Interesting concept. We got all but 2 of our big ticket items. Yeah, I was shocked. the gifters had it shipped directly to us and got pictures of the items (from online) and di current mr ilp's sister put all the pictures into a scapbook and called it a catalogue.
Nuff smaddy show up and never look pon di invite weh list where mi did register....aye sah No gift receipts were included with their gifts. Since mi cyan tek dem back & mi cyan use dem, what oonu would do wid dem?
Mi get up from mawnin and stawt write out Thank you cards. My plan is to of course say thank you and name specifically wah each person give me and how mi plan fi use wah dem give me. But mi kinna feel away that some ah wah people give me....mi not gwine use atall. Anyhow....
Still send the the thank you notes... If the items are things you wont use right away keep them for a while and who knows you may change your mind. Now mi no believe in keeping things mi not using so mi not encouraging you to do it either. If u kee them for a little while and still havent changed your mind pass them on to someone who needs them...Please wait until your mother gets there at least. BTW what does Mr ILP think?
One of the things about showers you cant get away from getting gifts that you havent registered for (I got a pink bath for Adale even though mi did mek the whole world know mi was having a boy and did already buy him blue bath set).
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Nuff smaddy show up and never look pon di invite weh list where mi did register....aye sah No gift receipts were included with their gifts. Since mi cyan tek dem back & mi cyan use dem, what oonu would do wid dem?</div></div>
Thank them graciously for the gift and offer them for sale at your local consignment shop. See how things with tags end up in the consignment shop (that was for Twiney)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Seveen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">some things you can return without a receipt because a particular brand or style is only from that store - i would try Babies R Us first
<span style="font-weight: bold">did the work people get invited?</span>
i bet there's another shower in your future - work folks - i hope they give money </div></div>
just the 2 people i regularly talk to.
di current mr ilp sister said she called them, as to not have to send emails or have a formal invite. she said they were more than gracious.
as for another shower...i cant imagine. everyone that i wanted there showed up for this one.
ILP I just want to say it look like is just di odda day we were looking at the pregnancy test arguing whether it was positive or not, I can't believe the time fly by so quickly!! Looking forward to hearing about the little one being here safe and sound!
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.