Re: When pickney careless wid dem tings
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">40 I do believe that yes children are different but I do think we can teach children to be organized (ie designate a spot for his items) and it should
some times things go well but other days lawd
so I think the key is motivation to do better
I tried to avoid that "Oh NO! NOT AGAIN!" shame and embarrassment, and avoid making her wrong, and praised em when she got it right. Just saying... it seemed to work out okay.
I dont think it would be appropriate in this case because then I would be praising on the days he came home with his coat???
I do spot praise when I do see they did something good (like remember to pick up their stuff from the bathroom when they are done without me asking).
What I am thinking about doing is the following:
Write a schedule of things they are supposed to do in order to learn how to care for themselves.
<ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]Make their bed after they get up[*]Put their towel, toiletries back where they belong when not using it[*]Make sure their backpacks are packed and ready the night before, all papers signed[*]lay out their clothes the night before[*]tidy up their room before bed (put books back, put clothes in hamper)[*]Brush teeth and wash face[/list]
These are things they are old enough to do without me giving a constant reminder (or so I think).
They will be granted an allowance and they will be able to keep 1/2 of their allowance for spending (the other half they must save). When I have to remind them on these items up above, they should pay me a nominal fee (amount tbd) as they are taking away time that I would have doing more interesting things with them (family game night, reading before bed, etc).
With this money they can earn , they (esp the boy at this point can use this to repurchase his itouch and phone)can learn a little more about money management.
Haven't finished thinking this through yet; please consider this <span style="font-style: italic">thinking out loud </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">40 I do believe that yes children are different but I do think we can teach children to be organized (ie designate a spot for his items) and it should
some times things go well but other days lawd

so I think the key is motivation to do better

I tried to avoid that "Oh NO! NOT AGAIN!" shame and embarrassment, and avoid making her wrong, and praised em when she got it right. Just saying... it seemed to work out okay.
I dont think it would be appropriate in this case because then I would be praising on the days he came home with his coat???
I do spot praise when I do see they did something good (like remember to pick up their stuff from the bathroom when they are done without me asking).
What I am thinking about doing is the following:
Write a schedule of things they are supposed to do in order to learn how to care for themselves.
<ul style="list-style-type: disc">[*]Make their bed after they get up[*]Put their towel, toiletries back where they belong when not using it[*]Make sure their backpacks are packed and ready the night before, all papers signed[*]lay out their clothes the night before[*]tidy up their room before bed (put books back, put clothes in hamper)[*]Brush teeth and wash face[/list]
These are things they are old enough to do without me giving a constant reminder (or so I think).
They will be granted an allowance and they will be able to keep 1/2 of their allowance for spending (the other half they must save). When I have to remind them on these items up above, they should pay me a nominal fee (amount tbd) as they are taking away time that I would have doing more interesting things with them (family game night, reading before bed, etc).
With this money they can earn , they (esp the boy at this point can use this to repurchase his itouch and phone)can learn a little more about money management.
Haven't finished thinking this through yet; please consider this <span style="font-style: italic">thinking out loud </span>