I feel VERY guilty after spanking my 3 yo. She also tells me that mommy when you spank me it makes me VERY sad. I am so torn about this issue...especially after reading that post below. Does spanking really help and what age is too young for it?? I was spanked gowing up that was the way it went in our family. Discipline was key. My daughter can be <span style="font-weight: bold">very own way </span>and does NOT listen. The spanking helps..but not all the time.
Spanking and My 3 YO
Re: Spanking and My 3 YO
she shouts at me/other ppl, if we go in the store/anywhere and she does not get what she wants she goes ballistic (screams, throw herself on the floor..), if you tell her to stop doing some, thing she shouts NO! and keeps on doing whatever (running in the street, throwing food on the floor ...anything)
Every child is unique...and spanking won't help every child.
As a parent you should know what punishment works in different situations.
If my older one is being rude and I correct her and she insists on doing it and tells me no then she gets sent to her room and stands by her naughty wall for 2 minutes.
If she surpasses that and is hitting, pinching, or kicking then she gets spanked and sent to bed until she calms down and says she is sorry.
Sometimes when she "spazzes out" [throws a nasty tantrum] all she really needs is my attention and I hold her in my arms until she stops crying and she will tell me what is wrong with her. This will not work all the time but I know when she needs to be held.
Remember, tough love is tough!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: junyplum</div><div class="ubbcode-body">she shouts at me/other ppl, if we go in the store/anywhere and she does not get what she wants she goes ballistic (screams, throw herself on the floor..), if you tell her to stop doing some, thing she shouts NO! and keeps on doing whatever (running in the street, throwing food on the floor ...anything) </div></div>
and how do you think spanking will solve these issues.
She sounds like she is upset and cant verbalize what is bothering her.
The ballistic behavior loses its effect when you just look at her and say, 'Oh what is that' or if you are a braver, throw yourself down on the floor an act like she does. She soon stop it.
Supernanny recommends the place where you go for a timeout when you are naughty (eg timeout chair) with a timeout equal to the age of the child to think about what they did.
When going into timeout the child has to know:
what they are doing that is wrong
and that they are going to the timeout chair for the xx minutes to think about it
when coming out of timeout it is key that the
child apologizes
you give her a hug and say it is alright
and it is a fresh startIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
no it not gwine work in every situation but if the child is throwing tantrums and other objects, then the parent haffi ask demself what is causing the child to do that.
like you said every child is different, if I know my child "spazzes out" in the mall or huge crowds, then I am not going to repeatedly take the child there (could be a sensory overload)
again it could be other things but she haffi figure out why the child doing this
I swore that I would spank cause that is how I was raised, but I have never had to spank and don't think I could. Just because it is culture/tradition dont mean that mi have to do it. plus it nuh really serve nuh purpsoe odda dan mek the pickney cuss yuh behind yuh back
so far all mi haffi do is give the <span style="font-weight: bold">"look"</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs___Diabolical</div><div class="ubbcode-body">in theory it supposed to work but in reality it is not applicable to every situation... </div></div>
true cause there are some times that all them need is a hugIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
so far all mi haffi do is give the <span style="font-weight: bold">"look"</span> </div></div>
though i have to confess that i've slipped on a couple of occasions and leggo some badwud.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
so far all mi haffi do is give the <span style="font-weight: bold">"look"</span> </div></div>
sometimes dat work to..only cah dem know weh yu gwen do if dem nuh lissen
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Mrs___Diabolical</div><div class="ubbcode-body">in theory it supposed to work but in reality it is not applicable to every situation... </div></div>
true cause there are some times that all them need is a hug </div></div>
true