<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bandanna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Sarah have asthma??
Watch her good, you will learn her triggers...
Not sure what else you can do... the Doctors told me that the scratch test for allergies would not be accurate until Imanni was older.
Lawd, mi sorry. Asthma noh easy at all
I am with CB about Abi... I think every kid develop at dem own pace. See the speech expert, but try not to worry.
I was diagnosed as an asthmatic at age 11...I remember the day I left school ans went home sick with my mother I told my friends that I was going to die If she never carry mi go hospital I probably would have The doctor asked me why I think she had asthma...I had never heard her wheeze but I see the warning signs...she is always coughing especially after a rough romp...and at night too...I do not want to wait til it is late to have it diagnosed so mi finally get him to agree wid me after a year that she might have "a touch of" asthma
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Hush, Skells. It's harder on you than the girls . They'll adjust.
Yes, start Sarah off with part-time pre-school if possible. She'll have accidents in the beginning, but those will stop soon.
<span style="color: #FF0000">That is what we doing...three days a week...5 hour days...and her sister too </span>
How about a hearing test for Abi? It's amazing how a good audiologist test young children's hearing. My younger son had speech issues related to his constant ear infections that compromised his hearing in turn compromising speech development.
She has perfect hearing....if I call her to come get her food no matter where she is in the house you will hear her little feet running to come get food.. "num num"!!!
Also, the younger sibling is always harder to come around speech-wise. After all, they have an older sibling to speak for them!
<span style="color: #FF0000">you know, that is the same thing that the doctor's assistant told me today..she is having the same problem with her younger child.</span></div></div>
Skells dont worry about her talking yet ... nothing wrong with getting somebody looking into it but I promise you in a little while after she start chat up the people them at daycare u going want to buy lock fi har mouth.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes the Ped (and books ) assured me that certain letters they will have problems with
for example <span style="font-weight: bold">v</span> versus <span style="font-weight: bold">b</span>
and others weh mi cant membah
Sarah has a problem wid b and v...I have been correcting her but it is a hit and miss......also with "th"...especially since both her dad and i speak jamaican i have been trying to get her not to say fawda an modda
i think the daycare ppl usually try to do the same thing. i think they have them on a schedule too to prevent accidents. and if they dont, maybe you can ask them to do it. i know they honored my request when i asked for my little one. </div></div>
The pre k director said they did...I will speak with the teachers directly when i take her to ease my concern...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Twiney</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Skells dont worry about her talking yet ... nothing wrong with getting somebody looking into it but I promise you in a little while after she start chat up the people them at daycare u going want to buy lock fi har mouth. </div></div>
you know, I think Abi by nature is more quiet because her mind is so busy...the trouble she gets into a daytime..it is no wonder she caan fine di time fi learn how fi chat yet
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Bandanna</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Many kids have trouble with certain letters... Imanni still have trouble with "TH"
He come home from kindergarten one day singing:
T...H...E
T...H...E
I can spell "duh" I can spell "duh"
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
How about a hearing test for Abi? It's amazing how a good audiologist test young children's hearing. My younger son had speech issues related to his constant ear infections that compromised his hearing in turn compromising speech development.
Also, the younger sibling is always harder to come around speech-wise. After all, they have an older sibling to speak for them! </div></div>
Funny I was just going to say the same thing about the hearing test too.
As Abi is under 3 skells you can request a full eval with early intervention services. How does she say the soft sounds ('s', 'f', 'v', 'th' and ends of words with consonants)?
As Abi is under 3 skells you can request a full eval with early intervention services. How does she say the soft sounds ('s', 'f', 'v', 'th' and ends of words with consonants)? </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">did your doc suggest zyrtec or claritin for the allergies?
i know how *i* feel the next day after i tek benadryl - mash up and outta it </div></div>
Sarah normally eats with a big rubber pocket bib at home...should I send her to sch wid one?? mi nuh waan di kids dem laff afta her an call her baby even doah she is mi baby
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.