How unoo teach unoo kids to write, use scissors, etc etc?
Parents of Lefties
Re: Parents of Lefties
I am not a parent but I am a lefty.
here are some tips/hints/whatever
Don't try to make your lefty hold the paper/book the "right" way. it may look upside down to you but we know what wi doing.
Don't try to make her hold the pencil the same way you do.
if you start somthing, juss know that she going to turn it around and do it her way, and it going to seem backway to you. like for examply if yu teaching her how to use scissors an yu start to cut out somthing.
Stirring cake batter, if you show her, an you doing it clock wise she going to do it counter clockwise.
Know that more than likely she going to have trouble telling left from right.
Don't freak out when you si how shi hold di knife to peel orange or caneshe is not going to slit her wrist or cut off her finger
we can do anyting you can do...we just do it better
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
mine is ambi and mi haffi keep reminding her that when she switch hand she haffi re-position her book/ paper suh har handwriting nuh look maddy maddy \o/ </div></div>
good tipwhy mi neva think a dat
I think I may have been leftie....up to now according to everybody mi still caan hole knife "properly"but make no mistake...mi neva yet cut miself!
I think Abi is a dominant left...she keep switching tings in her left hand...mi mada a tell mi fi bruk her out a it but dat is jus who she is...
my only concern is that she will be more difficult where writing is concerned...and using scissors an dem ting deh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _____</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I think I may have been leftie....up to now according to everybody mi still caan hole knife "properly"but make no mistake...mi neva yet cut miself!
I think Abi is a dominant left...she keep switching tings in her left hand...mi mada a tell mi fi bruk her out a it but dat is jus who she is...
my only concern is that she will be more difficult where writing is concerned...and using scissors an dem ting deh </div></div>
There is nothing to be concerned about - Dan write an use scissors an all dem tings deh just fine... they stand as much chance of cutting themselves as a righty does,and the learning curve with writing etc. is not longer or more difficult.
mi always a straighten har book though (out of reflex) an she always ah bawl afta mi "MO-O-OM - why are you doing that, I can't write with it like that!"
X3 is a some time lefty... but in the last month he started to use his right more... He picks up bats with his left hand swings it and then changes then changes back.. I was a lefty and got it beaten out of me by our histrorically brilliant education system...
skells leff di pickney alone nuhmi know weh yuh live enuh
no reason to be concerned, she will write, cut and THUMP yuh dung just fine wid her left
PLUS if you concerned at the time just get her some handwriting/occupational therapy
my bredda was a lefty and mi madda(it seemd to be the norm back in JA at that time) force him fi use him right, suh him end up use likkle of both but mainly right in school and adult
experts strongly recommend(sp) not forcing the child to switch as the brain already wired for left and ray ray hawse dead, suh that only going to slow dung the pickney
I am the daughter of a leftie. She's cuteIt was totally accepted for her to be a leftie growing up in rural Jamaica and she just adjusted accordingly. In nursing school in Kingston, she had no issues and became known as the cute left-hand nurse. That's how she met my father
Of their six children one came out a leftie. Not me.