Well if yuh having a shower ..games are a part of the deal.. is up to the host fi mek dem interesting. Just went to a shower end of August and the games were fun..It got very competitive in the room.
<span style="font-weight: bold">DISCLAIMER</span>: Dis an example of someone I know ..not talking about anyone in this thread
One of my friends who wi did a shower for years ago had on her registry an umbrella stroller and that was the ONLY stroller she had on her list. Her sister in law went ahead and bought her a complete stroller set that converts as the baby grows. Mi know dat ting was not cheap how it elaborate.
Well ina di miggle a di showa when mi fren tear aff di wrapping paypa and si it ..shi bawl out sey why people noh lissen to har an buy di stroller shi want. Shi start quarrel an talk bout a di lickle sinting shi did waan an shi noh waan dat dey big eva sinting.
Her sister in law was visible upset after that. I am sorry, but I had to call her out on it. I took her to the side and told her that she owes the girl an apology. Nobody was amused by that behavior. That was just down right ungrateful. Mi noh undastan why some people find it so hard to show appreciation.
mek mi repeat weh mi seh...mi hated MY shower...mi like di concept of a shower...mi hate what showers today have evolved into
i went to a lovely shower few months back...it was not called a shower. it was called a Blessing Way.
we the guests were asked to bring a note of well wishes, prayers, poems or blessings to the expectant mom and baby and a charm or bead that was to be strung together for the new baby....it was an intimate gathering, and we were not required to buy any gifts but we brought them anyway....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: CeaBee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">see all like she woulda better off not have a shower... she coulda chat bout the gifts in the comfort of her own living room, if she did get any. </div></div>
Yuh maybe right ..but being as shi put on showa fi every Jane, Mary an Sue...it woulda bi awful if no one stepped up to di plate an show her the same kindness/thoughtfulness
The point is .. people go outta dem way fi give her a desent showa...grin an bare.. a ongle bout 4 - 6 hrs outta di day
But anyway back to di pressing issue of di moment ...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Click to reveal.. <input type="button" class="form-button" value="Show me!" onclick="toggle_spoiler(this, 'Yikes, my eyes!', 'Show me!')" /></div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div style="display: none;">Is when Frenchie sey shi due again? </div></div></div>
personally I am embarrassed by all the attention of showers but I enjoy giving gifts and getting is ok too. Just not into the whole excitement and gift opening for me.
I am of the belief that if people claim that they know you AND they are generally interested in how you feel, what you want, and how you want it...They are not going to do things any other way. They wouldn't do things and then tell you to "be grateful" or "show appreciation" or any of them things.
If they know you and are genuinely interested in doing something for you (an NOT them)...the event will be a success.
I was asked by a few people when I was pregnant if they could throw me a shower, including my own family. I know that even though they love me, their love for themselves would trump there attempt at the event and the shower would turn into something that was about them and not the baby I was about to have.
di current mr ilp sister, gets me and was genuinely a interested in the baby. She was interested in her brother (di current mr ilp) and what would make him the happiest. Well...his happiness depends on mine....
The evening was fun and exactly what I would've planned for myself...if I was into that kind of stuff in the first place.
some of oonu definitely get weh me a seh. i don't have nutten gainst shower. i just don't like wat gwaan at di traditional one, and ef smaddy push a traditional one pon mi, mi would want di floor opin up an swallow me sakea mi nuh like alla di attention and would be mortified if people get invitation and feel dem obligated to bring mi sinting.
mi wud be the one fi seh carry a can a food fi di food bank or sinting.
yes nuff mothers out there want u fi finance dem breeding is not mainly about celebration of di baby and gathering of friends and family to share in the moment but more about who get dem what and who nuh get dem nutten. dats di ting mi waan stay clear from.
mi like thoughtful gifts and mi been blessed wid a likkle skill so mi nuh haffi tink too hard bout wat to get them. when mi mek mi fren dem baby blanket, mi tink bout di moddas, fawdas and di babies and mi put nuff love and ting inna every stitch caw nutten nuh precious like a likkle crumbsnatcher. i will be there fi babysit and tek dem fi walks but i can do widdout some tings weh gwaan a shower.
i feel the same way frenchy. i did not have a bridal shower for the that same reason and if my friends ask (which i know they would) i will tell them once again i dont want a baby shower. the few close family and friends who would give me something regardless of wedda shower a keep or not i know dem will still give and give from dem heawt and dats all i want. i dont want ppl to feel obligated to give just bcus u a keep up big shower and ting. plus den u have dis long list a ppl fi a send tank you card to its like this never ending cycle. lol.
mi bredda ooman no she on the other hand she just aggravate mi spirit. dis is har 3rd pickny and she even doe she pan bed rest still intend fi get shower. she planning it harself and she a invite everybaddy she can tink of. even male friends of my parents dat she may have seen once or twice at my parent's dinner party or so. mi even hear mi madda a ask har say if shower isnt a woman ting all a mi bredda soccer team an all invite. disgusting man. if u gonna do dat altleast wait an have a christening party of so and invite the world....mi did always tink showers was for u and ur gfs....guess tings and times have changed.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.