ms. goody - i didn't go through the permanent residency thing - my son was a straight adoption
it seems strange that on one hand they are talking about the grandmother and the other hand they are talking about permanent residency [img]/forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
yes take your pictures - make sure to take some at school and the zoo and things you do together - have some of you and she together
i'm praying for you to be a permanent mommy soon [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70384-praying.gif[/img]
Seveen, when I say permanent residency, I mean if she will stay with me or go to one of her relatives. She is coming up on 18 months which, I believe, is when they start revoking parental rights and the child becomes eligible for adoption. They want her in a permanent home as soon as possible. I just don't know how a Grandmother comes in the picture after 13 months.
I also think that if someone was sincere about getting her, they would at least ask to see her so that she can become familiar with them before she is potentially placed in their home. At least they will not be a stranger to her. Why aren't they showing an interest in seeing her? It's all about the Benjamins in my opinion.
Hopefully, I will get to be a permanant Mommy for Kimmy. We belong together. I am open to allowing her family to see her if she becomes mine. But they have to come correct.
I have a meeting this month with a panel review team. I am told that it will determine a permanent residency for her and that I and she have to be in attendance. Any pointers you can give me? I already plan to make up one of my baby photo albums and put her many pictures and pics she has "drawn" and other things in it. I pretty much have my speech down packed. I understand that what I say will be considered and taken back to the Judge. What should I really expect out of this hearing? If you can tell me.
My suggestion (as much as you may have to keep biting your tongue...) make sure you focus on all the positive stuff you have and can continue to contribute to the little one's immediate past, present and especially the future; the positive development and relationships (not just with yourself but day care buddies etc); the learning phases she has gone through, all positive happenings and progress made since placed with you - 'THEY' do not want to hear negative stuff about the other potential candidates (ie family members) nor their inadequacies.
May even help to have statements from her teacher and doctor (ie her state of health when you first became her primary caregiver - compared to state of health and development since)
What a wonderful Love story ((((MG2S & DivaKim)))
Baby was ready for your good lovin [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70377-loveeyes.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/notworthy.gif[/img]
I have a meeting this month with a panel review team. I am told that it will determine a permanent residency for her and that I and she have to be in attendance. Any pointers you can give me? I already plan to make up one of my baby photo albums and put her many pictures and pics she has "drawn" and other things in it. I pretty much have my speech down packed. I understand that what I say will be considered and taken back to the Judge. What should I really expect out of this hearing? If you can tell me.
My suggestion (as much as you may have to keep biting your tongue...) make sure you focus on all the positive stuff you have and can continue to contribute to the little one's immediate past, present and especially the future; the positive development and relationships (not just with yourself but day care buddies etc); the learning phases she has gone through, all positive happenings and progress made since placed with you - 'THEY' do not want to hear negative stuff about the other potential candidates (ie family members) nor their inadequacies.
May even help to have statements from her teacher and doctor (ie her state of health when you first became her primary caregiver - compared to state of health and development since)
good advice [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] don't bad mouth the relatives - they probably won't show up at the meeting
Exactly! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70409-waytogo.gif[/img] That was what I had in mind because I don't want to come off as the selfish one and not wanting her to have any contact with her family. I want to show the positives and the advantages that Kimmy can have in a stable home with someone who loves her and the progress she has made since she has been with me. I will have to bite my tongue in not mentioning the fact that she has not had any visitations with family members though.
I had also planned to get some letters from her Daycare providers. Hopefully they can say more than what they tell me weekly. Reminding me that she has a hearty appetite and that she fights/bites the kids that get in her way, and that she coughed all day because of the cold she got from their facility. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif[/img] But I am sure they can get some letters of substance to send with us to the review.
Thanks for your input. I just pray that it all helps when they decide where she will call home permanently. I feel that we need each other equally. She's good for me and I am what she needs. Keep us in your prayers. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70384-praying.gif[/img]
That was what I had in mind because I don't want to come off as the selfish one and not wanting her to have any contact with her family. I want to show the positives and the advantages that Kimmy can have in a stable home with someone who loves her and the progress she has made since she has been with me. I will have to bite my tongue in not mentioning the fact that she has not had any visitations with family members though.
(hear what they have to say as well) and stress (if necessary), your desire to maintain what is 'best for the child' and that IF they feel that includes allowing 'family' involvement or accessablity to visitation, life events, holidays etc...
Good luck, my cousin just had to give the baby she had since birth back. In most cases they don't do what's best for the child. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] The 17 year old father is into drugs heavily and doing all sorts of stupidness. The baby doesn't even have a bed to sleep on and he keeps the place filthy and nasty.
My heart goes out to my cousin for trying to help the little girl. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
Good luck, my cousin just had to give the baby she had since birth back. In most cases they don't do what's best for the child. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70400-talktohand.gif[/img] The 17 year old father is into drugs heavily and doing all sorts of stupidness. The baby doesn't even have a bed to sleep on and he keeps the place filthy and nasty.
My heart goes out to my cousin for trying to help the little girl. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
That is so sad! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img] I heard today, that the Aunt/cousin is now living with the "Grandmother" and they are putting in a request for them to get a bed for Kimmy, purchased by the State. I just don't know. Maybe they do have her interest at heart. They claim that they did not stress visitation with the family because they were going to place her with them, so there was "no need". [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]
There's nothing like throwing a child into a home with complete strangers without a warm up! They should have been visiting with her from December so that IF she does go to their home, she will at least know them. They won't be total strangers that she has probably never even seen in her short life. Lord have mercy on my poor little pickney. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/70384-praying.gif[/img]
She's going to the Lady that had her before me on tomorrow until Sunday since I have to work Sunday. It will be her first time away from me since she has been with me. I need a respite but I can't let her go the whole weekend. I hate to leave her but I have to go back to work now.
It's really sickening, the mom of the baby was 15 the dad was 16, both are into drugs and partying and didn't want the baby. My cousin was worked with the girl's mom "she's not fit either to take care of her"
My cousin stepped up and has has her since birth. Bought all this stuff made the baby a cute room and things, spent money on insurance and whatever the baby needed.
Mom doesn't want her dad is just getting the child to spite the girlfriend. They've been to court several times, the court awarded her parental rights with visitations from the parents. Social worker came inspected her house which was nice. The dad refused to let the inspector in cause the house was so filthy and he didn't have a room, clothes, food, bed anything for the child. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif[/img]
He took her to court again, the judge threw it out and the next thing she knew it was like someone bribed the judge or something cause he ordered her to hand the 1 year old over.
He also told her that the father could come and take her clothes, bed, toys or whatever he wanted to take my cousin had bought for the little girl. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif[/img]
My cousin is sick because of missing this little one, she has no contact with her and has no idea how she is doing. [img]/forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif[/img]
We went to court on Wednesday for the panel review. Kimmy won the hearts of the 6 people there. The lead woman said she is the only one holding up the blood stained banner for her family. I tell you. She's the only one stable.
I found out that both her Mom and her Auntie (Mom's 14 year old sister) are both on runaway status. There is also knowledge and a name/address for the alleged father. Great Grandma is supposed to get fingerprinted and she has yet to show up. Either she has a Dr's appointment or she just does not respond to calls and messages. So why are we stressing and pressing to connect with her and compel her to come???
The Worker declined to request a TPR because her Mom is young and they believe that, one day she will wake up, mature and realize she has a child out there that she needs to have with her. A child that she has not lain eyes on or called to make sure is okay in 7 or 8 months. None of the family members have made an effort to see her or anything. They are giving Grandma until the end of this month to get those fingerprints. Then we will have a meeting in 6 months for an update. The family will get the knowledge that there is someone out there that wants Kimmy. I don't know if this will move them or not.
I was able to say a word. I had a beautiful pink photo album that has a baby dress on the front. They loved the pictures we had. Her in her car seat, high chair, on her riding car, with neighbors/Church members/Daycare providers/Me and She at our Church Banquet/in her crib sleeping and just waking up, etc. They said the book told the whole story before I spoke.
I basically told them that I feel that Kimmy is in a stable home and I would love the opportunity for her to stay that way. She has her own space/room, everything a baby needs, a Church, Daycare, family/friends of mine, love and affection, etc. She is not wanting for anything. Although I know that reunification is the goal, and I am not trying to "take someone's child", I do believe that the best place for her is with me. The family is not showing any interest. I have no problem with them visiting but they do not ask.
I was asked if I would or have considered adopting her if she comes up. I said, "Just show me where to sign my name and I am there". I felt good about the meeting. I accept the fact that they are still exploring family options. Even the new found Father. I just know that God knows what is best for my little one and He will make the right decision for her. He also knows what is best for me. So, in the meantime, I wait and see what goes on while still giving her the best care that I can. I love that baby with my whole heart.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.