This pickney no want eat him food and mi going bonkers ... him getting mawga and soon look scrawny ... I've tried giving him his food pureed, crushed/mashed/cut in little pieces so he can pick them up and eat them or he just doesnt want to eat from me. The father just give him piece of banana bread whe him inhale it to how fast him gobble it down. Any tips on how I can get him to eat ...
Seriously I need help
Re: Seriously I need help
Twiney...take a deep breath
Him not gwine starve, his tastebuds probably just became a bit more selective. Member seh him did sick as well ! (hope him nuh decide that him like the sweet stuff cause yuh did say him inhale the banana bread
Just keep offering him the different foods with varying textures at each meal and eventually he will get it.
And if him turn out to be a picky eater, mek mi hug yuh now cause I know your pain.
Twiney, I have had a life long food affliction, mostly due to people trying to "force" and "trick" me into foods when I was young. I still have a food phobia that is no fun to live with...and I believe it is because of trickery and forcing. I used to sleep at the table and had the fattest dog you ever saw when growing up.
The pediatrician told my mother that as long as I ate 1 thing from each food group that was necessary to survive, that is all I needed to do. I don't even want to go into this on a bb but you might be fighting a losing battle and if you want, PM me, I can send you some links.
In the end, it turns out that Johns Hopkins is doing a study as I write this, about picky eaters. We finally are getting a diagnosis as having a disorder, after suffering life long social angst over this. Imagine not being able to accept dinner invitations to someones home without asking what is on the menu and making it clear what you can and can not handle being around. Some coin it 'super tasters", and texture is a major part of the ordeal. There are better ways than some to deal with it!
I hope I made sense, this is a topic that tends to push me over the edge, and why you seldom see me in food related topics or trip reports that have food pics. No lie...
Nanook there was a special on one of those shows that featured some of these picky eaters, I felt so bad for them.
Luckily my daughter is slowly outgrowing it, but I didn't try to convince her to eat anything, I just secretly wished and hoped that it would go on it's own.
This is a kid who used to eat chicken soup daily for lunch and dinner for months on end. This was not a battle I had any interest in waging, as I too was a picky eater as a child. I gave her multivitamins and called it a day.
Gen and Nanook maybe that is why I am miserable because I cant bring myself to force feed him and it is painful to throw the food in the garbage...
Nanook the older child will not eat meat but he'll eat mixed veg/carrots/cucumber/pak choy/callaloo and beans (if it cooked in the rice and peas) and he loves corned beef. So that is what he gets to eat. I am the picky eater and the father will eat anything.
Gen him will not be fed on the banana bread/sweets cause I'm not feeding them to him (I know how easy it is to get a sweet tooth
). I worry about him and the daycare since he'll be going there in 2 weeks. I know they didnt force Adale to eat when he was going there a year ago so I hope the same will happen if he doesnt want to eat but I am hoping it is just because of the sickness and that he'll pick back up soon.
Twiney, just chop up the same foods that you cook for the family, put it on his plate, let him pick out and eat what he wants and whatever he doesn't eat chuck it in the garbage.
If this continues, past a couple weeks, speak to the Ped about a liquid multivitamin if you are still concerned.
if a memba correctly twiney cook good and dreamt of opening a restaurant. mi nuh tink picky eater necessarily have nutten fi do wid di cooking. twiney will find what him like soon. dem taste buds change nuff over time. one day dem love sinting, di next day dem don't. is juss so di ting set.
good luck twiney
Hey Q numbers, in this case, please leff it to the experts. It has nothing to do with culinary skills, whatsoever, in may cases. It is sometimes about a real and true aversion to sights and smells and texture. I can give you an example...I can no way be in the same HOUSE that has a watermelon sliced on the table anywhere...If it is out of the fridge and unwrapped, I can smell it from the moment I step inside. I then have to leave or get sick. I have such an aversion to fish, I can actually smell it cooking if I see it on TV. I could never be near anyone eating it. It would not be pretty, to put it mildly. Some of us have a serious food disorder, which is why I posted in the first place...not to ever force a food issue, it can cause a lot of damage.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q3210</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Not intending to be rude, but a good eater always has a good cook.
Try refining your cooking methods and what you use to cook.
Damm...sorry for sounding so rude. </div></div>
yes Q u outaorder fi tru. come chat bout say di ooman cyan cook and har food no taste good dats why the baby nah eat. how u so brite
i dont think its the cook...i jus tink some pickney ( an even big ppl) never mek fi nyam....we eat fi live not live fi eat.
From a family of 5 brothers, I knew one who the mother had to cook plain rice, because rice `n peas was a no no.
Sorry about the trauma involved Nanook. I once took a whole load of Jamaica Fried fish to Canada for my brothers, only to see one of m y sister-in-laws literally go berserk when she saw the guys with their heads and eye sockets looking back up at her.
him will eat enough to keep him alive. it wasnt till me hit puberty dat doc stop concern about my being underweight.