BB's first day of Middle school. me suh nervous fi him .....school start late...bus come at 8:45 and not supposed to get back till 4:45. Long day and mi wonder what time him gwine finish homework? just in time to go to bed i guess.....so of course him lobbying for a later bedtime.
him come tired and with a headache but that mean seh him gone to bed early tonight without any fuss....everything else him seh is ok so far.
eta: I think it's something to do with the sharing of the buses and Elementary mussi get it first...high school 2nd and middle school last...but a just seh me seh...me nuh know fi sure.
Middle school is also the first time they get to have a teacher for each subject so now they are accountable to 5-7 different teachers vs. 1-2 from elementary school days.
Lawd. This brings back bad memories for me and dealing with my older one when he first started middle school Sorry, CB, but middle school was so bad that I switched the older one to Catholic school at the end of 6th grade and never let the younger one even start.
I think we did it right in Jamaica. There was no middle school, just high school for seven years (1st thru 6th form). Then the 'lower' school could be managed by the 'upper' school. Simultaneously, I like the parochial (Catholic) school system in my part of the U.S. where 'elementary' school is K thru 8th then on to high school.
I just think putting the kids for 3 years in middle school is like segregating them and it makes them feel warehoused until dem ready for prime time.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.