Sorry but Bush is not capable of grasping such a concept. He really is a nincompoo. Did you watch his interview with Charlie Gibson - priceless. He is such a senseless twit.
Bush was ready to quit his post a long while back. He is disinterested and has his mind on his ranch.
It actually serves the interest of the Republican party for him to leave a bigger mess for the Democrats to deal with come January 20th. So for the next few weeks the U.S. will be leaderless, just as it has been for the last eight years.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Andrewnaqi</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This was all designed that way by the chosen few. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Bush was ready to quit his post a long while back. He is disinterested and has his mind on his ranch.
It actually serves the interest of the Republican party for him to leave a bigger mess for the Democrats to deal with come January 20th. So for the next few weeks the U.S. will be leaderless, just as it has been for the last eight years. </div></div>...well let's see how the ReThugs will fare taking down the Big Three.
I think Bush care more about this that the Pin-Heads in his Party.
Watch the White House force the money from the TARP.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes the chosen few is the freemason o illuminatti sitten or whatevah dem call it
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Milo Man*</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Bush was ready to quit his post a long while back. He is disinterested and has his mind on his ranch.
It actually serves the interest of the Republican party for him to leave a bigger mess for the Democrats to deal with come January 20th. So for the next few weeks the U.S. will be leaderless, just as it has been for the last eight years. </div></div>...well let's see how the ReThugs will fare taking down the Big Three.
I think Bush care more about this that the Pin-Heads in his Party.
Watch the White House force the money from the TARP. </div></div>
i think that is going to happen too.
but yuh know if i was Obama i would be hoping that this deal fall thru and the companies are forced into bankruptcy before I take office ..because what is goin to happen is that he will be saddled with them coming back again and again for more money. I dont hear any talk about addressing the major issues ..all i hear is nonsense about cutting wages as if this si the solution tot eh problem .
any talk about wrapping up dealership? or cutting product lines? or the gov helpign then to get out of the job bank program? or vacating commitments to communities with closed plants?
you know richard, ah di sed mi seh the oddah day.
if i was obama, i would want GM to fail before mi tek office.
i can juss seet now.
im tek office ahn try fi add seh is im ahn di democrats why tings are so bad.
dem stawt already.
White House Bails Out Automakers: Everybody Wins, Save Taxpayers
Posted Dec 12, 2008 11:29am EST by Aaron Task in Investing, Recession, Autos
Related: GM, F, ^DJI, ^GSPC, TM, GT, TEN
The White House stepped into the breach early Friday, expressing support for Treasury to use TARP funds to bailout the U.S. automakers.
"Because Congress failed to act, we will stand ready to prevent an imminent failure until Congress reconvenes and acts to address the long-term viability of the industry," said Treasury spokeswoman Brookly McLaughlin.
The U.S. stock market was still down Friday morning but the worst fears of some market players did not materialize (at least not yet) after the TARP news broke.
But why Congress - the Senate specifically - failed to act is the subject of debate, and now largely a political discussion, as Henry and I discuss in the accompanying video (taped prior to the White House-TARP announcement).
Given Washington was able to (quickly) come up with the $700 billion TARP plan to bail out Wall Street (plus trillions more in other programs), it's a little surprising politicians weren't able to come up with a much smaller amount to at least tide the "Big 3" over until the new Congress/administration comes in.
On the surface, GOP Senators stood on principle by refusing to lend money to a crumbling industry, especially given the likelihood the $14 billion request would be the first of many.
"In the end, it's the single greatest flaw [of the House bailout bill] is that it promises taxpayer money today for reforms that may or may not come out tomorrow," said Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.).
Beneath the surface, the talks apparently broke down over Senators' insistence the UAW agree to benefit and wage cuts to levels on par with what foreign automakers operating in America pay their workers. (At a press conference Friday morning, UAW chief Ron Gettelfinger said the union was willing to make concessions but was rebuffed by GOP Senators.)
A cynic might conclude that GOP Senators saw the negative reaction to the Wall Street bailouts and lack of public support for a Big Three bailout as an opportunity to "break" the union, which typically votes for the other side.
Taking the cynicism a step further, perhaps GOP Senators deduced they could risk standing on "principle" knowing a lame-duck Republican President will bail them (and GM, Ford, Chrysler) out of any responsibility for the potential economic ramifications of their actions (or lack of action).
This is classic D.C. politics: Everybody wins ...save the U.S. taxpayer.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Andrewnaqi</div><div class="ubbcode-body">A cynic might conclude that GOP Senators saw the negative reaction to the Wall Street bailouts and lack of public support for a Big Three bailout as an opportunity to "break" the union, which typically votes for the other side.
Taking the cynicism a step further, perhaps GOP Senators deduced they could risk standing on "principle" knowing a lame-duck Republican President will bail them (and GM, Ford, Chrysler) out of any responsibility for the potential economic ramifications of their actions (or lack of action).
This is classic D.C. politics: Everybody wins ...save the U.S. taxpayer.
Not that I'm cynical. </div></div>The Unions wont forget in 2010 the ReThugs will in the Northeast will pay!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Unions wont forget in 2010 the ReThugs will in the Northeast will pay! </div></div> how many seats they have up there right now?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Unions wont forget in 2010 the ReThugs will in the Northeast will pay! </div></div> how many seats they have up there right now? </div></div>Not sure.
I think all the Senate Seats are wiped out, except the two ladies in New England but they do have House Seats, Local Sate Seats, City Seats and Judicial Seats. The Unions will organize against these every time they come up for any elections.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.