I volunteer in a nursing home and it's so sad to see how lonely and alone some are. Sometimes you see nieces and nephews more than the kids themselves.
should adult children be responsible for their aged parents?
We are setting the example here by having my mom live with us and enjoy her company. They will remember that and hopefully do the same for their children.
We have done a lot to make sure we can take care of ourselves and have told our children often enough that when they grow up, they have to make space for us like we do for grandma.. We plan to be out and about traveling but have a pied a terre at their placeAnd no nursing home either!
Originally posted by MsExced View PostI volunteer in a nursing home and it's so sad to see how lonely and alone some are. Sometimes you see nieces and nephews more than the kids themselves.
I have heard that also the nursing home wil pay someone to be a companion to an older person tooIf you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Originally posted by Peasie View PostI hear you, Jazz. Dats why when dem bway pickney beg mi fi a likkle smalls, mi have dem sign in blood dat dem nuffi put mi in a nursing homeaka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon