well, should they?
should adult children be responsible for their aged parents?
A B.C. man who was abandoned as a teenager is being sued by his elderly mother for parental support.
Ken Anderson, 47, has been fighting a lawsuit by his mother, Shirley Anderson, 73, since 2000.
Shirley, who has not had a relationship with Ken or his two siblings for decades, is asking for $750 per month in support from each of them.
A rarely used section of B.C.'s Family Relations Act says adult children are responsible for legally supporting parents who are "dependent on a child because of age, illness, infirmity or economic circumstances."
The B.C. Law Institute recommended repealing the section in a 2007 report.
No matter what my parents didn't do that I thought they should have done ... they really deserve every good thing they can get from me as they did what they thought was the best thing at the time. So yes I am responsible for my mother since my father is gone.
I know my children will not like everything I do and I know that they wont like everything I do so I cant really hold everything may parents did or didn't do against them.
Mi already tell fi mi one say im a go responsible fimi later on an dat no likkle dibidibi gyal nah go come awn yah an try tell im difrant.
The only problem is that I usually phrase it just so an im usually a look pon mi like im nuh undastan... but wait man, mek im try dodge mi an si if mi nuh come a im yawd, wid mi walker an peepee pon im step...
Serious note though: I don't believe a parent who has abandoned their child should be 'forced' on the child later on... I think she has some nerve... and she wants $750x3...per month... eh eh...
Kinda reminds me of singer from TLC... I think her deadbeat dad tried the same thing... actually, I think Adele's dad tried it too...
but si yah lawd...
I think no child should be required to take care of their aging parents but that being said, given the number of years parents have given parenting the child, the child may want to help their aged parents and therefore be obligated to do so.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
Good points.Originally posted by twiney View PostNo matter what my parents didn't do that I thought they should have done ... they really deserve every good thing they can get from me as they did what they thought was the best thing at the time. So yes I am responsible for my mother since my father is gone.
I know my children will not like everything I do and I know that they wont like everything I do so I cant really hold everything may parents did or didn't do against them.aka ChurchDude. I want that moniker back! Until then....
"Sometimes you have to let go to see if there was anything worth holding on to" ~ Anon
if it;s not the child's responsibility then whose is it? the government? most old people (much like children) cannot fend for themselves and will be taken advantage of if someone doesn't look out for them.
I am not referring to cases where the parent was absent and obviously not being much of a parent - but in the typical situation where parents take care of the child, food . clothing. scrimp fe send dem go ah college, give up the best years of them life fe chauffeur them around from place to place... ummmm.... heck yeah I expect that they should take care of their aging parents.
I have already hammered that into this ones head and I am not going to a nursing home either.
some kids are just too darn selfish and ungrateful - like dem did born big and mek all the good things happen on their own *KMT*
While I expect my sons to take care of me in my old age, I plan things now so they don't have to. What if I outlive my children? What if they are not in a situation to help me?
My sons have seen how their mom and dad took good care of their dad's parents and how their mom takes care of her own mother. I sense that they see this as the natural order of things. A family cares for its own. As my boys grew older, I let them know what my wishes are but, I believe, I let them know as I think they are able and that they can handle.
in the mean time I have put some things in place so that in my old age or disability, i will, with God's help, be less dependent on my children. i took out Long Term Care insurance, set matters in legal documents, and gave orders to other family members. I've also tried to save for my retirement from when I was in my 20's even when it was surely hard to do so
I also plan to be very nice to my sons' wives
Last edited by Peasie; 02-01-2013, 09:08 AM.
Peas Like yourself I have taken some steps to ensure I am financially able to support myself hopefully till the time of my death...
But that's not what I am talking about - I am talking about physically having me around
people take advantage of you in old people homes you know - its not the same as being in a family environment.
I hope not to ever be a burden to my kids but if I should ever need it I hope their attitude would not be one where I am treated like PITA.
Totally agree you should look out for your parents. My parents have them things in place but we are there for them also. I have things in place for my golden years. It did freak out my son when me show him the documents but mi mek him know it necessary.
@ sign in blood